Time flies

21 Jul

Today is the 21st of July.  That means we have exactly eight days left of living in marital bliss until I leave for the deployment. Since we got back from the honeymoon I have been quietly, calmly keeping track of the countdown – it’s impossible for me not to at this point.

I have mixed feelings about the deployment. Eighteen months is a very long time to be gone; however, I am comforted by the fact that I will get leave at some point and will, therefore get to come back and see everyone. It’s just so damn daunting.  Eighteen months away from everything. I think the worst of it is that I will miss so much, with graduations being on the top of that list. 

All whining aside, I’m excited to be facing a new experience. What is Kosovo like? What are the people like? What is the culture like? I’m well aware that I could find this information and much more online, but it’s not the same as really being there, which I will be come December. The sociologist in me is desperate to discover what it’s like. Coupled with all that is the fact that I have never left the US before – although I did travel to Hawaii last summer (yes, still in the US, but a different culture in many ways). Seeing Germany will be interesting and seeing Kosovo should be even more interesting.

With this deployment staring me in the face, I’m bum rushed by a multitude of emotions – excitement, nervousness, sadness, anger – you name it and I’m feeling it in regards to this journey.

If nothing else, this will be a wonderful experience – although being away from friends, and my newly formed family will hurt, especially as time goes on. I think this would be more scary, and more daunting, if Adam and I hadn’t spent so much time away from each other when I went to Basic Training and AIT.  Without that experience behind us, the enormous trust that we have between us would never have been formed. So, while that sucked, I’m glad it happened because it really did make us stronger.

Leave a Reply

