Camp Atterbury

13 Aug

Indiana is hell on Earth. It’s been rather warm and my morale has sucked for most of the time I’ve been here. But, eventually we will leave this shit hole and move on to bigger and better things in Kosovo. Rumor has it that Kosovo is way better than this, so that’s always a nice inspiration to keep on moving.

Tomorrow we go to the field for six days. This will involve wearing a lot of gear, marching around a lot, and doing things we’ve all learned at least 12 times before this. Hooah. But, this is what we’ve got to do, so I’ll just keep doing it.

My job sucks. Essentially, I’m a janitor. I will be able to do some public affairs things, however, thus far I’ve cleaned toilets, swept, mopped, attacked and been attacked by spiders and gotten quite bitchy. Andrew and I have a theme song now – it begins with “I’m a journalist, not a janitor.” You get the picture. Hopefully, things will get better once we get to Kosovo.

One Response to “Camp Atterbury”

  1. Mike July 9, 2008 at 1:03 PM #

    haha i love that comment. atterbury is a shit hole! I have been working here since 2005. good luck in Kov

Leave a Reply

