Labor Day Pass rocked, just in case you were wondering

6 Sep

My pass was wonderful. Friday morning Andrew and I headed to Indiana at 7:00 in the morning – which really means that I got to sleep in a little bit. The best part of leaving was that we were leaving in civilian clothing. By 8:15 we were drinking beer and eating breakfast – absolutely wonderful. Adam showed up right on time and then, after minor irritations with getting a rental car and tracking down his luggage, we were off into the great city of Indianapolis. Friday was all about taking it easy, not stressing out about anything. It was fabulous.

Saturday we went and saw Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby, which was, in my opinion, awesome. Really, other than eating a yummy breakfast and a good Italian dinner, we didn’t accomplish that much on Saturday. We did take a nap though – I think naps were a definite highlight.

Sunday we managed to be a little more productive – we went to the zoo! We saw bears and meerkats and tigers and birds and red pandas and a dolphin show – I loved it. The animals make me happy. There was a baby elephant and a baby zebra, but my favorite animals were the meerkats – they’re just so cute.

Monday we didn’t do too much – wandered around the mall, checked out of our hotel and checked Adam into a hotel closer to the airport. Towards the end of the day I convinced myself that crying would be an unnecessary act because we will get to see each other again in 34 days, but, when it came time to say goodbye I still cried. I can’t help it – I miss him and home and everything that he stands for. But really, I have leave in October, therefore there is no reason to be depressed.

But now, alas, it is back to work. Nothing much to report here currently – I’m shopping online for window treatments, so that, at some point, Adam and I can purchase said window treatments and move even further into the adult house concept.

I am attempting to quit smoking. We’ll see how it goes. I’ve only had two today and I consider that to be an okay start considering how often and how much I smoked over the weekend. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

