On madness and the eventual flight from Atterbury

5 Oct

Alright, so the last entry I was bitching about needing a nap – well, allow me to explain how that need got worse. Yesterday morning I woke up at 3:30 in the morning so that I could ride along with TF Red Dragon and take pictures of them doing cool stuff. Can I just say that, 3:30 in the morning is not a time that I like to see – ever. It was nice, in the brief moments of solitude while I walked from my barracks to where Red Dragon was. I like the peace and quiet of the morning. I like being awake before everyone else is because I like the silence, but 3:30 in the morning was a bit much. It was a really long day, but I was in my bunk by like 7:30 last night. I couldn’t get into deep sleep until about 10:30 because the lights were still on and everyone was super loud, and the barracks were 81 degrees last night – about 12 degrees too hot for me to sleep.

Anyway, with the current exercise that we’re doing now, Command Post Exercise – Phase 3, I’ve been pretty productive. I’ve updated the website every day – sometimes several times a day – taken lots of pictures and generally made my boss a happier person. That’s a good program.

Leave is in just a few days – CPX 3 ends tomorrow, then we have to pack up everything we have – everything – printers, computers, random shit and just everything by Saturday. Saturday we rehearse for the departure ceremony and pack even more shit. Sunday we have the rehearsal ceremony and get the fuck out of dodge. Go on leave, come back from leave and then – oh my – go to Germany! So – the next few days and going to be a little busy I think. 

I get into Richmond at like 8:30 on Sunday and then Monday is Adam’s birthday – Tuesday I’m going shopping with Andrew for Lindsey’s birthday and then I’m hanging out with Jennifer and then….I’m not sure what else is planned, but I’m sure somewhere in there I will partake in sleeping and drinking and enjoying the freedom. I’m super excited about the drive up to Fairfax for some reason – just to be in the car by myself, loud music on, windows down and singing at the top of my lungs. I can’t wait! Is it horrible that I’m super excited about being in a car by myself in civilian clothes? Yes – probably. Oh well. I need the freedom of a car ride.

Leave a Reply

