Germany, ya?

24 Oct

Well, here I am, across a fucking ocean from most of the people who know me. Except for, of course, the 1500 or so Soldiers here with me that know my name due to my picture taking.
Today, is an I hate the Army day. Even writing that, it’s not really right, because, like Andrew said today, the Army didn’t do anything wrong, it’s the people in the Army that make life miserable. While I can almost always manage to scrounge up a happy face and a precious smile, I’m starting to get pissed off. Two I hate the Army days in a row is never really a good thing.

Perhaps the worst of it is that it’s not going to get any better once we get to Kosovo, no matter how many times I tried to tell myself that in Indiana. Sure, the food will taste better, but, compared to the food here, I think goat shit would be delicious at this point. Sure, I won’t be sharing a room with 50 other people – just 1 or 2. But still, my work days will still be longer than most of the Soldiers here, and my morale will continue to slip down each day as I hear bullshit about Soldier care echoed in the halls of my office – what the fuck is Soldier care, and, if it’s a good thing, could I get a little care?

I hate that I am in Germany and that I will not get to see Germany, except, of course the beautiful leaves changing colors – my view of which is obstructted slightly by a high fence with barbed wire at the top. This is what it’s like to be in prison. Except for we work longer and harder and the food is worse. The caged feeling sucks and it is not something that I am used to. I need places to roam and our area of operations here is tiny – we can walk around our basic perimeter in about five minutes – and that’s when we’re walking really, really slowly.

But – hey, it’s a free trip to Europe, right?

Leave a Reply

