Words?

17 Apr

I don’t know what to say.

What happened yesterday at Virginia Tech is, to say the least, shocking and devastaing. I’ll go ahead and say the obvious: My thoughts go out to the Tech community and I’m deeply saddened by yesterday’s events.

There are, at this point, more questions than answers. What causes someone to kill 32 people? Is it our gun culture? Is it the violence that we’re surrounded by in the media? Is it bullying? Is it a lack of available mental health services? What happened? Could the police have done more to warn students? Where do we go on from here? What is the appropriate course of action to ensure that this doesn’t happen again?

What I can’t figure out, is how you get to the point where you decide to kill 32 people and yourself. I have no concept of the anger, the sadness, the hurt, or the mental dysfunction that must have caused this. It is beyond me. I’ve been very angry in my lifetime, and very hurt and displeased with the world, but I cannot comprehend having enough of those emotions to kill over thirty people.

Hopefully, in the next few days, or the next few weeks, more details will become available and hopefully the Virginia Tech community can begin to develop some semblance of understanding. In saying that though, I don’t think we’ll ever really understand why this happened. There is no point, no sense, in acts such as the massacre that occurred yesterday.

Leave a Reply

