The most fabulous book I’ve read in a really long time

27 Apr

Last week I started reading Me & Emma by Elizabeth Flock. It was fabulous. I think I bought it sometime before I left for the deployment in order to provide myself with some reading material and only just recently got around to reading it. It was absolutely fabulous. I tend to like books that bring me almost to the point of tears (a la White Oleander), and this one definitely did that.

Amazon.com says this:

The title characters in Me & Emma are very nearly photographic opposites–8-year-old Carrie, the raven-haired narrator, is timid and introverted, while her little sister Emma is a tow-headed powerhouse with no sense of fear. The girls live in a terrible situation: they depend on an unstable mother that has never recovered from her husband’s murder, their stepfather beats them regularly, and they must forage on their own for food.

Stop here and you have a story told many times before, as fiction and nonfiction in tales like Ellen Foster, or I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings –stories in which a young girl reveals the horrors of her childhood. Me & Emma differentiates itself with a spectacular finish, shocking the reader and turning the entire story on its head. Through several twists and turns the reader learns that things are not quite the way our narrator led us to believe and everything crescendos in a way that (like all good thrillers) immediately makes you want to go back and read the whole book again from the start.

I tell you what, I cannot agree more. I already want to go back and read it. I love twists at the end that make me want to reread it and I’ve got to say this book rocks. I’m officially adding it to my favorites because I really, really enjoyed it.

At this point, however, I’m trying to decide which book to take with me on the plane. I’ve a got a few allegedly great books to read, but something tells me that A Child Called It and The Red Tent are not light, plane-reading material.

Oh well. I have hopes that I’ll find some ridiculously silly beachy type book to read that will not cause me to think too much.

Additionally, I feel the need to remind you that I only have two days of work left until I go on leave. The first being tomorrow, Saturday, which is a half day anyway so that shouldn’t count, the second being Monday, which will also be a half day for me since I don’t plan on staying forever since there are things I must attend to. I am so excited! I try not to think about it, and truthfully, I’m really not counting the seconds, I’m just walking around all happy because I will not be here at this time on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

