Reason #472 why I’m a great, big nerd.

23 May

Last night I finished re-reading the first Harry Potter book, Harry Potter and the Soceror’s Stone.  While this is a good thing because it brings me one step closer to crossing something off my list, it is also a good thing because I found a quote to add to my list as well. 

 “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – Albus Dumbeldore in HP & The Soceror’s Stone

I love it not only because it’s from HP, but also because it might be the best advice I’ve ever heard.  Plus, it’s advice I need.  I get wrapped up in thoughts, worries, dreams, and fears quite frequently and then, more often than I’d like to, I forget to enjoy what’s going on right here, right now. 

I blame it on being a Pisces.  Aren’t we the dreamers, the ones that so easily get lost in thoughts and dreams and spend more time dreaming than living? 

It’s not all bad.  Daydreams tend to be pretty safe, but there’s always been that part of me throwing out the what-ifs and that can get unhealthy pretty quickly.  I’ve had to remind myself daily to just let life come and see what happens, instead of dreaming up possible outcomes. 

Regardless of the dreaming and the what if complex, I’m a great big nerd.  I love the Sims 2, I love the HP books, I love the internet, I was a theatre dork in high school, I love college and learning and education and generally all things nerdy.   I don’t see anything wrong with that.  This is me, at 23, appreciating my nerdiness, embracing my dorky tendencies and basking in the glory of nerdness. 

Leave a Reply

