Hey, May, where did you go?

31 May

It’s the end of May and I just stumbled upon the shocking realization that I’ve been in Kosovo for six and half months already.  To be totally honest, the first half of this deployment has gone by quickly.  The days here drag occasionally, but the weeks always seem to fade away at a reasonably fast pace, especially with all the madness that has been going on in my office lately.  It seems that concentrating on planning for big events and wishing you had more time to prepare actually makes time go by faster. 

What’s even better than having completed six and a half months though, is knowing that I only have about five and half months left, although five and a half months is probably a high estimate.  If the remainder of this deployment continues to whip past as quickly as the first half did, then I’m sure I’ll be out of this office in no time, attempting to adjust to life as a civilian, searching for someplace to live and looking into adopting a dog in no time.  I’m not going to lie; I am a little apprehensive about returning to the life that I left behind, or to what’s left of it, but I am also excited about the prospect of creating a new life for myself.  Nothing will be the same when I get home, and while that’s terrifying, it’s exhilarating at the same time. 

Goodbye May!  You were a good month and I thouroughly enjoyed our time together. 

Leave a Reply

