Cleverness that came from Mark Twain

1 Jun

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

For some reason, most of the quotes I’ve added to my list involve remembering to live life.  The above quote is no different. 

Perhaps it’s the truth that I find in quotes like the above, the simple honesty that if I don’t live life to the fullest at 23, when I don’t have children or mortgage payments, then I might not get to live my life in 20 years, at 43 when I probably will have kids, a husband, a few dogs, and a mortgage payment. 

I like the middle part the best.  “Sail away from the safe harbor.” It makes me think about pushing off with my feet against the wall of the pool and then just kinda floating along on my back.  It’s safe, mostly, until you hit the other wall of the pool with your head. 

I think I need to broaden my quote categories though, regardless of how moving and meaningful quotes like the above are to me.  I need more than just life quotes. I need quotes about love, about courage, about pain, sadness and heartache.  I need quotes about living a better life, living a fuller life, and quotes about memories and friends and work and all those other sorts of things that are required to compile a truely comprehensive list of quotes to live by.  I’m more than willing to take suggestions too by the way. 

From now on, no more quotes saying the same thing over and over, regardless of how moving they might be.  From now on, it’s all about broadening horizons and other such things. 

 

 

One Response to “Cleverness that came from Mark Twain”

  1. Lauren August 31, 2011 at 11:01 AM #

    http://www.thefreckleonmyrighthand.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

