This is the part where you realize I’m a giant nerd

15 Jun

I am a Harry Potter fan.  I tried to fight it, but eventually, I broke down and had to read the books just to see what all the fuss was about.  Now, I am obsessed. 

As you may or may not know, dear internet, the 7th book comes out in July.  July 21st to be exact.  This will sadly be the last installment in the Harry Potter series.  Needless to say, I’m a little depressed about the whole thing. 

In preparation for the end, however, I have begun reading the entire series over again.  I read them for the first and only time during the summer between high school and college, and I always promised myself that I would reread them before the final book came out. That’s why it’s now June and I’m staying up past my bedtime reading about the Triwizard Tournament.  I know.  I’m a big dork.

What’s been neat about reading the 4th book, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, is all the talk about a member of the Bulgarian Quidditch team, Viktor Krum.  It makes me excited because I know where Bulgaria is now, in fact, I’ve even been there, whereas the first time I read the books, I’m pretty sure my geographical knowledge of Eastern Europe was somewhere in the range of limited to nonexistent.

What made me realize what a gignormous dork I am, however, was something I read last, while in a headache induced, sleep-deprived haze.  I remember it well.  It was on page 333.  Sirius Black is talking to Harry Potter via the fire (how that works, I’m not sure, but it’s super neat).  The two are discussing the mysterious disappearance of one Bertha Jorkins, who was last seen in Albania, which Sirius says is “definitely where Voldemort was rumored to be last.”  This freaked me out.  For a few brief seconds my mind went immediately to the fact that I’m in Kosovo and Albania is right next door and that Voldemort could be on my porch.  Seriously.

That’s when I realized that reading over one hundred pages of Harry Potter at a time can cause me to become delusional and believe that Voldemort could be on my porch. 

Needless to say, I put the book down, realizing that Voldemort does not exist, and he’s not on my porch, but that J.K. Rowling is either evil for creating a series that’s more addictive that heroin, a wickedly talented trickster for causing my two second freak out, or an absolute genius for creating something so wonderful.

In the end, I feel reassured that if I’m good at anything, it’s nerdiness. 

2 Responses to “This is the part where you realize I’m a giant nerd”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Does this count as a list? (or, the three things post) « questionable rationale - June 19, 2007

    […] Lose myself in books.  And when I say lose, I mean lose all sense of time and place.  This is why I got scared that Voldemort was on my porch. […]

  2. Does this count as a list? (or, the three things post) | terra the bear - October 5, 2014

    […] Lose myself in books.  And when I say lose, I mean lose all sense of time and place.  This is why I got scared that Voldemort was on my porch. […]

Leave a Reply

