I remember it fondly, that time when things weren’t totally crazy.

18 Jun

Before I went on leave, I think there was actually a time when I could sit in my office and not be actively engaged in five to ten different tasks. I remember sitting and waiting for emails to download so that I could have something to do. For some reason, things aren’t like that anymore. At all. My office has now turned into a place of chaos. A place where phones ring so frequently that I curse them every time they ring. A place where I can’t keep on top of all my emails anymore, and a place where too many things are happening at once.

I’m not sure where or when it started, but I definitely hit the ground running when I came back from leave. There were Memorial Day celebrations to plan and prepare for, and since then, there have been countless high profile visitors that have demanded far too much of my time and energy. And now…well, now it’s all about the 4th of July.

Somehow, between the phones ringing, my email pinging every few seconds, and my urgent stuffing of invitations I managed to stay sane today. But barely, just barely.

I now find myself waist deep in anticipation for the 4th of July to be over, although I know that once that has passed us, there will be countless more visitors to plan and prepare for, and, eventually, a massive goodbye event that my office has to deal with.

I think I need to go back to crossing off Sundays. Sundays are wonderful. Sundays I lay in my bed with my zebra print blanket, eat popcorn, watch movies, and drink juice. If I can just make it to Sunday, I’ll be fine, never mind the fact that it’s only Monday, that’s totally irrelevant. Sunday will come eventually, and then, dear internet, then everything will be okay.

Leave a Reply

