Statistics that make me cringe and say “ewwwww”

22 Jun

I just read somewhere that 42 percent of college graduates never read another book after the completion of college and that 70 percent of adults in the US have not been into a bookstore for more than five years. Needless to say, I’m astonished. I, for one, love reading.

Being the person that I am, I want to know why it’s like this. Is reading such an important part of school that it’s considered work after the presentation of diplomas? Are Americans too busy, too stressed, too lazy, or too preoccupied to take time to enhance their minds with a good book? Has television and the internet killed the comfort that reading once brought us? And wait a minute, what about parents? If 70 percent of adults aren’t visiting bookstores, which I’m sure includes a healthy percentage of American parents, then are children missing out on the joys of reading for fun? Are kids missing out on the wonderful smells and treasure hunting tasks of browsing through a used bookstore? What about libraries? Are American adults and children missing out on libraries too? I think the optomistic side of the library issue would be that more people are visiting libraries, but I highly doubt it. While I’m sure that children get to experience libraries through their schools, and that many homeschooling parents use the library as an extremely valuable resource, I believe that America’s library system is greatly underused.

Personally, while I don’t have any of the answers, I for one cannot even imagine going without a book store visit for five years. Hell, it’s hard enough for me to get through one year without a nice book store visit.

To be fair, with the advent of internet shopping I’m sure some people have traded in visits to bookstores for online shopping, but, statistics show that 80 percent of Americans did not buy or read a book in the past year. That’s wretched.

All I can really say is that the whole thing is pretty upsetting. If American adults are not immersing themselves in novels as a leisure activity, then, based on the trends, it seems that American chlidren aren’t either. Perhaps this wouldn’t be so shocking to me if I hadn’t grown up loving books, and if I didn’t still love books. I can’t imagine never reading another book after college, or never engaging in reading as a leisure activity. In fact, when March hit and I hadn’t read a book for a few months, I got a little pissy with myself and made myself stop spending so much time perusing the internet, and instead forced my nose into several books.

3 Responses to “Statistics that make me cringe and say “ewwwww””

  1. Steve Olson June 22, 2007 at 5:54 PM #

    The reading statistic is sad. I love to read, my oldest son loves to read and he is only 4. My wife sells books on the internet and plans to open a brick and mortar store soon. I with you… I can’t imagine not reading for years…I must read daily…I try to read two books per week.

  2. titus2woman June 22, 2007 at 6:27 PM #

    I am addicted to books! and I have a wish list a mile long to prove it~LOL! I did once write about the classics being removed from our library, because nobody’s reading them. It’s being replaced with fluff and twaddle! ACK! I think too that modern writers that exhibit the same flair as the classics today would probably not be so successful… My darling says to HOARD our books~he’s seriously wondering one day if they’ll be so easily available!

    Okay, so I’m chatty. We’ve been sick this week for the first time in a long time!

    Yeah, I might not have shared that backyard post if I knew you were reading~LOL! No loss of love there though~and I really do pray I’ve never shared anything to offend you. The truth is I love y’all! and I know I’m weird~it’s just not always easy when others think it too… and why do I care what others think, anyway? but I do.

    I can’t wait until we’ll be working side-by-side in our yards again~WOOHOOO! (((((HUGS))))) sandi~okay, so I chat much more than I work….

    P.S. Your comments are such a blessing~I can’t imagine anyone being inspired by little ‘ole me! LOL! I often think I write just about silly stuff, while sooo many write on REAL issues! So I guess I view myself as one of those aforementioned fluffy writers….

  3. (((((HUGS))))) sandi June 24, 2007 at 3:58 PM #

    I’m glad to see I’m not the only book hoarder! LOL! I just cannot set them free either!

    You do not seem *at all* weird to me. I read that someone told you that you are~how does that make you feel? I don’t think it bothers me from someone who loves me, although it’s been put a few ways that was just a teeny bit unsettling… LOL!

    I want to know ALL ABOUT Kosovo! How things are done differently, and how things are the same. Every detail, please! LOL! I just love culture sooo very much!

    We’ve only had a few stifling hot days here so far~WOOHOOO! I am not going to pry into the other you wrote~but I’m always available for a listen *if you need it* or wanna take it to e-mail. (titus2fam(at)yahoo(dot)com) I’m pretty good at remaining objective, because we all do yucky stuff~so no judgement towards anyone!

    I’m just so happy to be able to keep up with ya! You’re makin’ my day! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

