It’s been a while since I’ve done it, so I figured, what the heck, I’ll give you an update.

28 Jun

As we inch toward July one day at a time, I’ m reminded that I’m well past the first 100 days of my 101 in 1001 challenge.  Most unfortunately, however, I also realized that I have not given you, my three loyal readers, an update in quite some time.  So, without further useless sentences, here’s my update. 

3. Stargaze on the beach. ::  This was added recently.  It replaced sleeping under the stars, which I have since decided would leave me totally open to the elements and probably end in me being covered in mosquito bites or mauled by a bear. 

5. Blog at least three times a week :: I’ve been tempted to cross this off the list for quite some time now, seeing as I generally blog between four and six times a week.  To be fair and honest to myself, I did miss a few weeks when I was on leave, but that’s a special circumstance.  Needless to say, I’m doing a pretty good job on this one.

8. Bake a batch of peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. :: I completed this goal on May 6, 2007.  They were not the best cookies I’ve ever made, but they were cookies. You can see them if you want to.

14. Update my will. :: I did update the copy of my will that I have on my computer; however, I’ve decided that I want to wait until I get home and until things settle down to complete this task.

18. Visit a lighthouse. :: This is also a new addition.  It replaced something I obviously no longer care about, seeing as I can’t even remember it. 

36. Learn to be honest with myself. :: I think I’ve made good on this so far. When people ask how I really feel about something, I tend to pause and think about it before blurting out what I think people want to hear. 

59. Go somewhere tropical. :: I’m thinking once I get home from this deployment, I should get on a boat and cruise for a week or so.  I think I deserve it. 

66. Eat at 10 new restaurants. :: This is also a new addition.  Again, I can’t remember what was there before, but it obviously wasn’t very important to me.  This will probably have to wait until I get back to Richmond, which is good.  I hope this motivates me to visit new places.  Of the years that I’ve spent in Richmond, I’ve discovered a few favorites that I keep going back to.  I think I’d like to change that.

74. Reread the Harry Potter series. :: So far, I’ve read the first five books and just started on the sixth one.  Progress is good!

77. Get a stamp in my passport. :: I got it!  On the way back to Germany from leave, on May 17th, I got my stamp! 

81. Create a list of 101 reasons why I love myself. :: I started it.  It’s like therapy for me.  It’s not easy.  My mind tends to immediately go to the things I don’t like, but I’m hopeful that through making this list, I’ll learn to think positive.

83. Twirl in the rain. :: I stood in the rain, but I have yet to get the courage to actually twirl.

92. Learn to enjoy wine. :: This is another new addition.  It replaces something that was very similar to another item on my list, thus making it irrelevant due to its redundancy.

96. Read at least one poem a day, every day for at least a month. :: I added a time limit on this one.  It previously read “read at least one poem a day, every day,” but I felt that was far too open-ended.  I’m also thinking about starting this one in July.

98. Learn to cry again. :: I was able to cross this one off in May.  It’s good to know that now I can cry when I feel like crying, instead of just getting annoyed at myself for thinking about crying.

 Well, there you go!

2 Responses to “It’s been a while since I’ve done it, so I figured, what the heck, I’ll give you an update.”

  1. (((((HUGS))))) sandi June 28, 2007 at 7:26 PM #

    LOVE this list! We seem to *really* like the rain. As a matter of fact, we were out front riding our big wheels during Gaston. Hey, we didn’t know any better! All we knew was that the power was out and it was really raining. LOL!

    I would like to learn to STOP crying. If I’m stressed I eat or cry. Over EVERYTHING! YUCK!

    I make a really good peanut butter cookie~and it’s soo easy! 1 c. PB, 1 c. sugar, 1 egg. That’s IT! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. (((((HUGS))))) sandi June 28, 2007 at 7:27 PM #

    P.S. I could NEVER complete a list of 100 reasons why I love myself. I think that is *really neat*! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

