Stuck in the office on the 4th of July, but thinking about apple pie anyway

4 Jul

As we approach the five o’clock mark on this lovely, burning hot 4th of July, I am patiently awaiting catastrophe in my office.

Since starting the planning of this, the American 4th of July Celebration here on Camp Bondsteel, I have gained a newfound respect for party planners. Especially party planners that plan events with people who speak several different languages, to include, but not limited to, Albanian, Serbian, French, English, and German. I am content in the knowledge that I have done my best to make sure things go as smoothly as possible, and now all I’ve got to do is answer the phone and deal with any issues that arise. I’m hopeful that the worst has passed us, that everyone that needs to get onto Camp Bondsteel will get onto Camp Bondsteel with relative ease, that the timing of planned explosions and helicopter fly-overs is correct, that everyone remembers what to say and when to say it during the ceremony, and that my phone remains quiet.

To change the topic slightly, I want to talk about apple pie. While I was at lunch, I heard someone joke that we don’t even have apple pie on this American holiday, which made me wonder why we say things are “as American as apple pie.” After a quick stop at both wikipedia.org and appleofyourpie.com to look up apple pie, I’ve discovered the following information:

  • English apple pie goes back to the time of Chaucer. According to my sources, meat pies were pretty popular during the 14th century, but sometimes fruits such as apples were substituted for meats and served as dessert.
  • In Yorkshire, the traditional way to serve apple pie is with cheese. And by cheese, I mean sharp cheddar.
  • Back in the day, the pioneers apparently invented a mock apple pie that was made from crackers. In the 1930s, Ritz Crackers even advertised a recipe for a mock apple pie using their crackers.
  • According to wikipedia, “Advertisers exploited the patriotic connection [with apple pie] in the 1970s with the TV jingle ‘baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and Chevrolet.'”
  • Allegedly, the warm American summers an the cold American winters have aided in the perfection of the fruit.

So really, it’s not all that American, and we only started associating it with being an American trademark about 35 yeas ago, but it’s delicious regardless.

Again, happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

