Oh shocker, I included a list in this sleeping post!

10 Jul

Now that the fourth of July has passed us and my office has stopped being the most hectic place on Earth, I’ve finally started sleeping again.  This is a good thing, a very, very good thing.  My mind has stopped jumping to strange conclusions and topics the moment that I click my light off, and, while my brain is still mulling over a whole assortment of worrisome issues, it’s not inhibiting my sleep patterns anymore.  I’m quite pleased with this turn of events, as crappy sleep for two weeks turned me into quite an irritable little Terra.

For some reason the stress of my job will keep me up at night, but stressing and worrying about what life will be like when I get home from this deployment allows me to blissfully drift into a deep slumber.  You would think that life would keep me up at night, but it doesn’t.  I have a bunch of theories for why this occurs, most of which conclude with me being more concerned about my job because it affects others, while my life ultimately affects only me.  Perhaps it is my fear of letting others down, my desire to please and get the job done that caused my two week hiatus from sleep, but, regardless, I’m just happy to be sleeping again. 

In celebration of my renewed ability to sleep, I made the following list:

Things I would rather be doing right now instead of sitting in my office typing this, or, using different words to describe the same things:

  • Napping
  • Snoozing
  • Sleeping
  • Dozing
  • Resting
  • Hibernating
  • Catching a few z’s
  • Falling into a deep slumber
  • Taking a siesta
  • Conking out
Leave a Reply

