Another wonderful book to add to my list

12 Jul

Once I finished reading all six of the Harry Potter books, I needed something with a little more weight to it.  As my luck would have it, Serious Girls, by Maxine Swann, arrived just in time. 

Needless to say, this book was absolutely amazing.  It follows the lives of two teenage girls attending boarding school, and follows them as they start to find themselves, and start to figure out what it means to be a person.  Both girls enter sexual relationships; one with a much older man, the other with an abusive teenager.  It’s raw and honest and elegantly written. 

What I enjoyed most was the questions the girls asked of themselves and of each other.  “When does your life assume its course?,” wonders one.  Later, after many difficult experiences, both girls wonder if it’s possible to both enjoy and experience life.

It’s hard to put into words, but trust me, it’s good. 

The book description:

Sixteen year olds Maya and Roe form an intense friendship when they find themselves cast as outsiders at an all girls boarding school. Sharing their life stories, and curiosity about the adult world, they wonder how they might become “people” with style and character as opposed to school girls. When they move beyond the enclosed world of the school to experience the city, and relationships with men, both girls test the line between an emerging sense of self and its total disintegration.

Next up I’ll be reading Thirteen Moons, by Charles Frazier.  I started it earlier in the week, and I enjoyed what I read so far.  To be honest, I’m only reading these books to pass the time until the seventh Harry Potter comes out.  I’ve already got it pre-ordered from Amazon, but we’ll see how long it takes it to get to me.  Hopefully not too long, as I’m desperately anxious to read it. 

3 Responses to “Another wonderful book to add to my list”

  1. titus2woman July 13, 2007 at 1:38 PM #

    Call me nosy~I LOVE to know what everyone is reading! Today I’m picking up THERE ARE NO SHORTCUTS by Rafe Esquith from the library. He is an AMAZING teacher with extraordinary ideas! (Have you heard of the Hobartan Shakespeareans?) I’m waiting for The Piano Shop on the Left Bank by Ted Cuthcart to be transferred to our library branch. It’s an American perspective on Paris~I think! LOL! I’m still in the middle of The Blood Covenant. So far it’s talked about the rituals of blood brotherhood all over the world. I suspect it will lead to Christ’s sacrifice and the taking communion? The culture of blood brotherhood is fascinating! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. Alverna July 18, 2007 at 11:38 PM #

    Terra–I always enjoy your blog immensely! I know, I’m such a stalker and it’s downright rude of me to read without ever dialoguing. Sorry!

    But I had to say, I’m re-reading the first 6 Harry Potter books and eagerly awaiting my own pre-odered-from-Amazon 7th book like you…and a few million other people. I’m alternating between Harry Potter and my Equine Repro textbook. Yes, I’m reading a manual on horse sex just for fun. You always knew I was a little nuts, right? I decided that even though it’s a little early to be looking at equestrian real estate it’s not too early to develop my business plan. Dreams are a burdon sometimes, you know?

    Anyway, I like the bikini…can I join you on the beach in November? 🙂 I don’t like winter. I like playing in the snow one, maybe two, days and then I’m ready for Spring.

  3. instatick July 19, 2007 at 10:16 AM #

    You are such a stalker! But that’s okay because I know there are several friends and family members of mine that lurk around here and never talk, but still, it’s nice to here from you! And there’s nothing wrong with reading about horse sex for fun – I read books about sociological theory for fun, and that’s just as nerdy! 🙂

    I agree with your thoughts on snow – it’s fun at first, but then, I need some sunshine!

Leave a Reply

