The end is near for everyone but me. Me, I’m in Kosovo.

21 Jul

Well, July 21st, the much anticipated date of release for the final Harry Potter book, has finally reached us.  By us, I mean Harry Potter fans everywhere. 

If I was at home, in Richmond, I would likely have signed up to attend a book release party and would have likely gotten my copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows at 12:01 last night, amid sleepy children, all decked out in Harry Potter costumes, and their patient parents.  I would have stayed up all night reading, likely feeling waves of different emotion as I clutched the 7th, and final, Harry Potter book.  I might have cried, laughed, maybe even felt a little loss than that there will never be another Harry Potter book that I can spend the night reading anxiously.

But, alas, I am not home.  I am, instead, in Kosovo.  Last night was a normal Friday night for me.  I watched some South Park.  I ate some pizza.  I went to sleep, woke up, came to work, and here I sit, feeling a little lonely without my 7th Harry Potter book.  The end has come for all Harry Potter fans today, and I can’t help but feel a little left out of the loop.  I know it’s silly.  But…I want my Harry Potter book! I also want to see the 5th movie that will likely not grace our theater here until September, but, it’s just not meant to be. 

Now, I have ordered the Harry Potter book from Amazon.  I did so sometime in May when it first became available for pre-order.  Amazon is good to us here in Kosovo, with most orders reaching us in about a week, but I am itchy with excitement regarding the books arrival. 

Perhaps the hardest part is my attempt to avoid all the headlines that have popped up over the last week.  It’s simply unavoidable.  The internet is flooded with blogs and news articles about the possibilities of the end, and, worse, spoilers.  I hope that, until my copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is in my hands, I can avoid having the end ruined for me. 

Lastly, because it’s me and I love lists, here’s some humor for you, which I pulled from here:

Signs You’re a Harry Potter Fan

  • Your computer says “You’ve Got Mail” and you run outside looking for an owl.
  • You mutter “lumos” each time you turn on a flashlight.
  • You sort all your friends into the four Hogwarts houses.
  • You can’t understand why you were burned trying to get through the flames of your fireplace.
  • You collect plugs.
  • You spend hours tapping on bricks with your wand hoping that a secret entrance to Diagon Alley will appear.
  • You name all your pets after Harry Potter characters.

For a cute anecdote about the final minutes before the release, click here

5 Responses to “The end is near for everyone but me. Me, I’m in Kosovo.”

  1. (((((HUGS))))) sandi July 22, 2007 at 1:58 PM #

    You know somebody else just got in trouble for doing the trunk thing? It was a Dad this time, and they’re really going after him with full force! So glad I had the right response to the closet thing now~LOL! I fixed the link to it, only I forgot it was also the SiLLiNeSS! about crack money…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. jenn July 23, 2007 at 4:16 AM #

    you must call me when you have finished reading so we can discuss. i only have sundays off

  3. instatick July 23, 2007 at 9:50 PM #

    Jenn – Assuming I ever get that book, I will call. Only Sundays? That’s just silly! I would love to say that I’ll have it and have read it by this Sunday, but I’m not making any promises…

  4. jenn July 25, 2007 at 3:38 AM #

    it only took me 30 hours to read.. and that is including my 9 hour nap. i have faith in you. and i do work every sat now but the hours for those change

  5. instatick July 25, 2007 at 7:50 AM #

    Well, it’s Wednesday and book is still not here. But, once is does get here I will be bringing it into the office to read and will likely be called a nerd several times my fellow office mates. But, it’s worth it…so worth it.

Leave a Reply

