Movie night on Camp Bondsteel in Kosovo

30 Jul

On Saturday night my two best friends here on Camp Bondsteel, A. and N., and I went to see Shrek the Third at the movie theater here on post.  It was one of the few times when I’ve actually gone “out” on a Saturday night, as there’s really not much to do here.  Weekends are just continuations of the work-week, especially since I work on Saturdays.  But, because we all adore the Shrek movies, we decided to leave the comfort of our rooms and venture out into the heat, up a little hill, and into the Camp Bondsteel movie theater. 

While sitting in the theater, I got to thinking about how different seeing a movie here, or on any military post for that matter, is so different. 

  • First of all, we get second run movies, meaning you people in the US get them a good two months before we get them, and half the time the movies we get are already out on DVD, or, are about to be out on DVD. 
  • It’s free. 
  • No stadium seating. 
  • No cup holders.
  • No fountain drinks, just bottled soda.
  • They do have popcorn and hot dogs and nachos and even some candy, or, you can bring your own snacks too.
  • There is no dimming of the lights.  Suddenly, everything just goes dark.
  • And then they play the national anthem and we all have to stand at attention.  There I am, munching on popcorn, and then suddenly it’s dark and scary and then the national anthem plays and I spill popcorn while leaping out of my seat to be patriotic.
  • They play feel good Army movies that fail to make me feel good. 
  • The sound sucks.  Really sucks.
  • After the movie is over and as soon as the credits start rolling, they blind you by flicking on all the lights.  It’s cruel.  And a little unusual. 

While movies at home are expensive, I really can’t wait to go home and watch a new movie on a great big screen with stadium seating in the theater with a giant fountain drink and popcorn so greasy it’s been outlawed in Kosovo. 

Oh, and on an unrelated note, I’ve got about three months left before the deployment is over.  Umm…YAY!! 

3 Responses to “Movie night on Camp Bondsteel in Kosovo”

  1. ap August 15, 2007 at 6:01 AM #

    I was at Bonsteel in 03 as an 11b. I am now in a stryker brigade that is training for Iraq in 08. I would love to be in your shoes. That movie theater was put in while I was there and we thought it was great. Bondsteel is the best base you will ever get combat pay for. I can’t imagine you complaining. Grow up! Investigate living conditions in Iraq and Afghanistan.

  2. instatick August 15, 2007 at 7:52 AM #

    ap –
    Thank you for your comments; they are greatly appreciated. In my defense though, I’d like to say I’m not complaining. I’m well aware of how awesome Camp Bondsteel is, especially when compared to other places that I could be deployed to. This is a post is about the difference between viewing a movie here in Kosovo, versus viewing a movie at home.

    Good luck with your mission in Iraq!

  3. BigZee January 2, 2012 at 10:32 AM #

    You ALL should go home. You occupied someone else property, you kill innocent people and I will pray for you to understand that.

Leave a Reply

