I may never drive across a bridge EVER AGAIN!

2 Aug

I have always hated bridges.  And tunnels.  And anything that is not a road on the ground.  Roads that go above and below the ground are bad for Terra.  Very, very bad.  This is why I will never visit places like Key West which require me to spend HOURS on a bridge.  I hate them.  Passionately.  I even hate roads that go under bridges, which, really, is just like a small tunnel, therefore making it ultimately evil. 

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, have you read the news today?!  Did you hear about this, which is, in fact, the single most terra-fying (hehe) thing I have ever heard of in my life and actually causes my heart to hurt a little bit (which is weird, cause I thought it was all cold and black and whatnot.)? 

If you refuse to click the link out of absolute fear for what could possibily make my (formally cold and black) heart hurt, let me fill you in. Yesterday, at about 6 PM, a bridge in Minneapolis that went over the Mississippi river COLLAPSED! To make matters worse, it was bumper to bumper traffic, you know, it being rush-hour and everything. 

From the pictures I’ve seen, which I inevitably keep looking at because I am apparently a sucker for heart-hurting, it looks like the middle part of the bridge just ripped itself from the ends which MSNBC.com says sent “vehicles, concrete and twisted metal crashing into the water” some 60 FEET below

Holy crap. 

I may never go anywhere ever again now that I know my nightmares  are rooted in at least a little bit of fact and that yes, bridges, BIG bridges, bridges that are part of the interstate, do, in fact, collapse.   

Some 9 people are thought to be dead, and at least 60 are injured, at least 6 of which are in critical condition, and 20 people are still missing.  While I’m not the religious type, I’d like to suggest that if you pray, you pray for these people, and if you don’t pray, well, send warm thoughts and love and whatnot in the general direction of Minnepolis. 

2 Responses to “I may never drive across a bridge EVER AGAIN!”

  1. titus2woman August 2, 2007 at 7:14 PM #

    We’ve all known people who are afraid of bridges, and if you’re one of the not afraids, you try to explain that their fears are unfounded. Well we can’t do that anymore! That was the very first thought that popped into my head when I saw this yesterday.

    Last night they reported that not only was it rush our traffic referring to vehicles, but that there were plenty of cyclists and walkers on the paths beside the road as well. It’s horrible! I just cannot fathom it still…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. Ash August 5, 2007 at 12:09 AM #

    Sweetie, I can remember you being “concerned” about bridges and tunnels your whole life – especially the big ones by the Chesapeake Bay. Well, you were right, weren’t you? It can happen…but thankfully, it doesn’t very often, and after this, they will be really inspecting a lot of bridges, so it will be safer for all.

    Miss you ….

Leave a Reply

