I might have beaten you up 15 years ago

17 Aug

When I was a child we moved around a lot for no particular reason. I tell people I went to four high schools and five grade schools and they always ask why, but really, I’ve got no logical explanation, other than that when the wind called us to move, we moved.

I started kindergarten in West Virginia, ended up moving in the middle of the year to Winchester, Virginia (that elementary school freaked me out because they were learning French and I thought that was the most ridiculous thing ever asked of kindergartners, but still, that didn’t stop me from singing along to the itsy, bitsy spider en francais), and then moved to Ohio where I spent my first, second and third grade years. 

When I say Ohio, I mean the poor, lonely, boondock part of Ohio (I know what you’re thinking and no, the entire state is not all the boondocks).  Ever heard of Appalachia?  Yeah, that part of Ohio. 

Just to make sure we’re all understanding things here, humor me for a minute while I explain that part of Ohio.  First of all, you should know that I lived on a road called Goat Run Honey Fork Road (seriously), a road that, technically, was part of Logan, OH.  I lived in a house log cabin without plumbing.  We had wolves (seriously, as animal companions).  The elementary school I went to was K-5.  The sixth graders moved out the year I got there.  There was one class of each grade.  See, out there in the boonies we didn’t have none of that 3 classes of third graders crap – that’s for ya’ll rich folk.   

Upon arrival at this elementary school, I immediately fell in with the mean kids.  I became, instantly, a bully.  I was loyal to my friends, and especially my best friend at the time, Patricia Hart, but all those other girly girls knew to stay far, far away from me. I didn’t have time for their silly talk about the color pink, cute boys, New Kids on the Block, makeup or any of that other girl stuff.  I needed mud pies, romps in the woods, bugs, and dirt to make me happy. I was mean.  I would scratch.  I would call you names.  I would harass you until you cried.  There’s really no way to explain it other than to say that I was a grade school bully. 

Part of it had to do with my massive first grade crush on one of the meanest bullies, Doug Something-or-Other.  The other part of it had to do with my massive first grade crush on another, lesser bully, Lee Carter (as you can see, I went for the bad boys from the start).  I was cool with them because I could run faster than they could.  I was cool with them because I was as mean as they were.  I was cool with them because I wasn’t afraid to say shit in first grade, because I would rip them off the monkey bars, because I was, simply, one bad-ass first grader.  I was that mean girl in first grade that the other girls hated.  I was that girl that got dirty playing in the dirt in first grade.  I was tough, even at the tender age of 6.  I didn’t back down when Doug dared me to eat ants and said that, if I ate the ants, he would eat a worm.  Oh no, I did it, just so I could see Doug eat a worm. 

Let’s face it, I probably would have beaten you up if we went to grade school together.  Sorry, but it’s true. 

I don’t really have a moral of the story, although maybe it’s fitting that me, the grade school bully, ended up in the Army.  Maybe it’s given me a nice ventilation system for some of my viciousness.  I think I’ve mellowed now.  I haven’t moved anyone to tears since high school so I’m counting that as a good thing.  Somewhere between there and here I figured out that even the dorky kids, the fat kids and the annoying kids are people and don’t really deserve evil, bully treatment, even if they do claim Creed as the best band of all time. 

7 Responses to “I might have beaten you up 15 years ago”

  1. Al August 17, 2007 at 8:47 PM #

    Great site, keep it up, it’s not easy finding info on KFOR, We are getting ready to come sometime in ’08 maybe you could post some do’s and dont’s, living situation, etc… We would appreciate it greatly.

  2. instatick August 18, 2007 at 9:35 AM #

    Al,

    Thanks for the comment and the suggestion. That’s definitely something I’ll think about, as I know it would have helped me when I first set out on this deployment.

  3. titus2woman August 18, 2007 at 12:43 PM #

    I love this peek into your history! I was a cheerleader and theater kid….

    Have we had the discussion already about my roots being in Appalachia? My Dad’s side. They left when he was six I think, annd OH the stories! My uncle has always been hillbilly. I guess what I mean is, he’s never fit in when it comes to city life. He still seems strange and simple~I really can’t describe it…. (((((HUGS)))))) sandi

  4. titus2woman August 18, 2007 at 12:44 PM #

    OH~and I had a Mamaw and a Papaw… LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. Ash August 24, 2007 at 5:06 AM #

    We moved because of money, mostly, though it’s much more romantic to say it was the wind. Kerry, on the run from the IRS, trying to collect thousands from him and then me since I was his wife. Then of course, there was an incredibly stupid marriage, and all the fall out because of that. I’m sorry, sweetie. I did my best, though I know you don’t believe that. One day you will understand.
    All that made you who you are, though. Living in the woods, hauling our own spring water to drink, collecting rainwater for the wolves, and boiling it on the stove to wash in. Remember the “psuedo-shower” I rigged up in the living room, with the water bucket and hose and the tub? Walking across a log, high above a creek, just to get to the house? Winter mornings, waking up and the water in the kitchen wash pan being frozen on top. Splitting logs in the moonlight, watching the ice crystals fly through the air, looking like diamonds as they reflected rainbows in the moonlight…
    I believe that kind of stuff builds character. And self confidence. And strength. I sure can’t haul 50 pounds of dog food up a hill on one shoulder now…
    Isn’t it funny, how when we talk about your childhood, it’s always about those three years we were there in the woods?
    I still don’t know how you got to be such a bully in elem. school and I had no idea…eating ants and the dirt and scratching and all, sure, I knew that kind of stuff. You routinely bit wolves on the muzzle to keep them in line and express your dominance. But not being mean to others…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. questionable rationale - August 18, 2007

    […] 4,359 hits Let’s talk about Kosovo – Part I: My house looks like this Saturday August 18th 2007, 3:07 pm Filed under: KOSOVO, DEPLOYMENT It’s not easy finding info on KFOR. We are getting ready to come sometime in ‘08 maybe you could post some do’s and dont’s, living situation, etc… We would appreciate it greatly. (from Al who posted a comment here) […]

  2. Let's talk about Kosovo – Part I: My house looks like this | terra the bear - October 4, 2014

    […] It’s not easy finding info on KFOR. We are getting ready to come sometime in ‘08 maybe you could post some do’s and dont’s, living situation, etc… We would appreciate it greatly. (from Al who posted a comment here) […]

Leave a Reply

