A hodge podge of thought

22 Aug

Last night I found out that my divorce has been finalized. 

From what I’ve been told, it was finalized on the 14th of August.  Eight days ago. 

That means I was married for exactly 13 months and 13 days. 

Does that mean that 13 is my number?  Or does that mean it’s not my number?  I’m not sure.  I like the number 13, although I generally proclaim 7 as my favorite of all numbers. But still, I’ve never been one to associate bad luck with the number 13, and I’d rather hate to have it turn into a bad number now. 

So, my thoughts?  My feelings?  My emotions? They are well.  They are sky-high, skirting the tippy tops of the tallest trees.  They are celebratory thoughts.  They are the thoughts that say, okay now, can we just forget this happened and move on so no one has to know you’re 23 and divorced? But still, my mind says, free, free, free, you are free, released, yourself again, belonging to yourself again, you are yours again, finally, at last, I am free, free, free. 

The downside of this whole thing?  Well, I found out about the divorce being finalized approximately 25 minutes before the start of a Memoral Service for a Soldier who died over the weekend (more on that later).  Yesterday was a rollcoaster of emotions.

3 Responses to “A hodge podge of thought”

  1. Ash August 24, 2007 at 4:47 AM #

    I had been wondering about this a lot lately, since you said it might be final as early as May. I’m glad you have positive feelings about it – I can deeply understand those, having had the same divorce/freedom feelings myself.
    I’m sorry to hear about the soldier who passed, though – what happened, if you can tell us?
    Love you, T. – don’t forget it!!!
    Ash

  2. Ash August 24, 2007 at 4:49 AM #

    Oh, I forgot to say – you know, I think, that 13 has been a magickal number in many cultures, so I’d say that it’s a good sign. Just my feeling…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. questionable rationale - August 24, 2007

    […] Soldier side shows Friday August 24th 2007, 2:10 pm Filed under: DEPLOYMENT, LIFE I mentioned here that I attended a Memorial Service for a Soldier that died over the weekend.  While I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

