In which the sentimental Soldier side shows

24 Aug

I mentioned here that I attended a Memorial Service for a Soldier that died over the weekend.  While I don’t feel that it’s my place to include the whole story or write specifics about his death, you can read about it here, here and here

That was the first time I’ve ever attended a Memorial Service for a Soldier.  I’ve been to numerous funerals for friends, and friends of friends even, but never for another Soldier.  To put it in as few words as possible, it was emotional.  There are military-specific honors rendered, and they leave you feeling completely overwhelmed with emotion. 

There is the roll call, during which the deceased Soldier’s name is called.  Of course he doesn’t answer and the end result is a deafening silence. 

Taps.  Enough said.  If that doesn’t hurt your heart, I don’t know what will. 

Being a Soldier is a very strange thing sometimes.  I’ve never known how to react when little old ladies stop me and thank me for my sacrifice and my service.  I want to say so much, but nothing coherant ever comes to mind.  Thank you, I want to say, for giving me something worth fighting for

Appreciation from strangers creates unnameable feelings, as does the death of a fellow Soldier.  Whether it be someone I knew, or someone I didn’t know, it’s still someone I’m connected to through military service.  We’re all bound together by it, by the Army, by our experiences, by our job.  Regardless of where we’re from, which unit we’re a part of, or where we’re stationed, we’re all in it together, we’re all connected, all related, all part of the same whole. 

With the loss of any felllow Soldier comes the loss of a brother, a sister.

In closing, if you pray, pray for the family members of CSM Wilemon, pray for the families of all fallen warriors, and pray for peace.  If you don’t pray, just send warm thoughts.  Those help too. 

3 Responses to “In which the sentimental Soldier side shows”

  1. Tom Awtry August 24, 2007 at 2:47 PM #

    Very well expressed and I couldn’t agree with you more, that a soldier’s final formation is not the easiest to attend and no matter how well you may have known the fallen comrade your mind wanders to those who have also had the sad retention of “taps” played in their honor and how many more will have bear the sound of the trumpeter’s horn before we learn to coexist.

  2. titus2woman August 24, 2007 at 3:01 PM #

    Prayers going up! and your response is perfect~I hope you start using it! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2k7: The year in reviewiness « questionable rationale - December 31, 2007

    […] really big things happened in August – the death of a US Soldier on Camp Bondsteel, and my divorce was finalized. And that’s really all I have to say about […]

Leave a Reply

