And you thought I was done talking about Harry Potter

20 Sep

Back in July I complained (shocker) about not being able to see the 5th Harry Potter movie when it was released in the States.  I was bitter, to say the least.  I knew that, eventually, the movie would make it to Camp Bondsteel and that it would make it bootleg in Kosovo on the US release date.  But, as a Harry Potter purist, I vowed that I wouldn’t see the movie until I could see it in theaters, even if that meant waiting a few months.

Well, last night Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix finally made it to Camp Bondsteel, and I finally went and saw it with Andrew.  We ate Taco Bell (well, I did) for dinner, then headed to the Camp Bondsteel theater and I finally got to watch the 5th Harry Potter movie. 

And it sucked.  I was disappointed.  As Andrew put it, the books keep getting better, but the movies keep getting worse.  They left out so much of the book that I think, at this point in the movies, if you haven’t read the books, you’d be totally lost.  If you don’t read the books and only watch the movies, then, at this point, you don’t know what S.P.E.W is, you don’t know that the food at Hogwarts is prepared by House Elves, you don’t know about the portraits that scream at the Order, you don’t know about the complexity of the Black family tree, you don’t know about Neville’s history, you don’t really even know who Tonks is, you don’t know about the swamp that Umbridge couldn’t get rid of, and so on and so forth. 

So, while the Taco Bell was delicious as always, and going to the movies is fun, especially when it’s with a good friend, the movie was a disappointment and I’ve officially decided that I’m a Harry Potter purist and when filmmakers deviate from the book it makes for a sad Terra.  Hmph.

3 Responses to “And you thought I was done talking about Harry Potter”

  1. jenn September 21, 2007 at 4:19 AM #

    i liked it

  2. instatick September 21, 2007 at 8:08 AM #

    I think everyone did except for me and Andrew, and maybe one other person I talked to about it yesterday. It wasn’t totally horrible, but I really want to see more House Elves.

Leave a Reply

