Will someone with more critter knowledge please identify this?

22 Sep

Right before I went to Warrior Leader Course I saw this little creature and I don’t know what it is. My initial thought was that it’s a mongoose. I haven’t looked it up yet because…well, I don’t have a good excuse other than I was at WLC for two weeks and only just found the picture again.

If you know what it is, please leave a comment and tell me. And if you don’t know what it is, well, you can be like me and admire it’s cuteness.

UPDATE: I think Ross had it when he said this little critter looks like a least weasel. I concur, as do the fabulous Liz and Chris, thus making it official. It’s a least weasel. My friends and I saw this little critter on the way back from the half marathon, with Burger King breakfast in our hands, which, now that I think about it, is probably what lured this precious animal out of it’s hiding hole. He (or she) was very curious and very interested in us, the Great Carriers of Greasy Hash Browns.

Thanks for all your comments on what this might be. They are very much appreciated and I feel great relief in knowing what this critter is.

5 Responses to “Will someone with more critter knowledge please identify this?”

  1. Ross September 22, 2007 at 6:37 PM #

    It looks like some kind of weasel. Maybe a least weasel.

  2. Ash September 23, 2007 at 11:20 PM #

    I think that’s it – the stoat (aka ermine) and other weasel species have black tips to their tails. You are lucky to see one – they are nocturnal and reportedly very shy.

  3. Liz September 24, 2007 at 3:03 AM #

    Chris and I confirm: Least Weasel.

  4. jake gyllenhaal September 24, 2007 at 9:54 AM #

    I think it may be a sewer rat. A little cute, adorable sewer rat.

  5. Rhia September 24, 2007 at 7:52 PM #

    hey sis i think it is a wild ferret.the ones in europe look very differant from the ones in pet stores.

Leave a Reply

