The bittersweet of goodbye

25 Sep

Yesterday I looked at a calendar and realized I only have just over a month left until I board a plane and leave Kosovo forever. It’s a bittersweet feeling. Part of me is excited about getting home and restarting my life, but the other part is a little sad to be leaving such a beautiful place. Kosovo really is gorgeous and the thought of never seeing these mountains again is a little heartbreaking.

After counting down the months for so long, it’s strange that I suddenly realized last week how attached I am to this place. It has, after all, been home to me for almost a year. I’ve forged some wonderful friendships here and accomplished a lot. I’ve set a lot of goals and even accomplished some of those goals. I’ve changed. A lot. I’m not the same person I was when I drove away way back in July of 2006. My life has tipped itself upside down, for better or for worse (I’m siding with for better), and nothing has stayed the same. It’s awesome, scary, exhilarating, fascinating, mind-blowing and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

With that said, there’s still a lot to accomplish before I leave here.

  • Pack all my crap and send it home, with exception of what I deem necessary and able to fit into either one duffel bag or one ruck sack.
  • Send out invitations for our Transfer of Authority celebration. Now, this probably sounds like an easy task, but it’s not. See, we’re in Kosovo so sending out invites means that I have to deal with invites in three different languages plus four different RSVP forms, each in three different languages. Not. Easy.
  • Train my KFOR 9 counterpart who should arrive sometime in the next two weeks or so.
  • Move my room all around to allow for new roommates who, like my counterpart, should be arriving in the next two weeks or so.
  • Find an apartment.
  • Not go crazy.
  • Keep up with all the little things at work and not lose my mind in the madness that this rotation’s end may bring.
  • Get on a plane and fly far, far away.
6 Responses to “The bittersweet of goodbye”

  1. ArmyWife September 25, 2007 at 4:32 PM #

    Hello! I have been reading your blog for a few weeks now. I must say its very interesting =) My husband is deployed to Kosovo and its nice to be able to get a women’s perspective sometimes on how things are over there! (As we both know it can be drastically different than a male perspective) It’s very exciting that you are wrapping things up and coming home because, well, that means he is heading home soon also. I doubt its the same day and stuff (he’s with a different task force) is the same ( I can hope for sooner! haha) but I love that is is really close. Its been a long time…

    Anywho- I just wanted you to know your blog is great and you are a fantastic photographer! I enjoy looking at how you capture the beauty of Kosovo. Amazing. It really is beautiful in its own away. Good luck packing up and preparing for your replacements to arrive…

  2. Jeff September 25, 2007 at 10:38 PM #

    As a KFOR9 Soldier that will be at your location in the near future, I would like to thank you for giving me something interesting to do while telling my boss I am researching Camp Bondsteel. I hope that you will continue with the same enthusiasm after the TOA so that I can tell him I am researching redeployment issues concerning KFOR Soldiers. Thanks again.

  3. VANG Wife September 26, 2007 at 2:43 AM #

    I would also like to thank you for the time and effort you have put into this site. My husband is deployed to Kosovo and I found your site by trying to research when KFOR 9 would actually get there to let them come home! It has been a relief to see another perspective of what’s going on. Any details or descriptions I get are very vague and I am left with a million unanswered questions. Your ability to tell of your experiences has helped me gain insight. Good luck packing up and get ready for the fun times ahead.

  4. instatick September 26, 2007 at 8:43 AM #

    Ah, you people are awesome!

    ArmyWife –
    Thanks for your kind comments! Your husband probably will be home before I get home because, for whatever reason, I’m on the very last flight out of here. For your sake, I hope he’s on the first flight out!

    Jeff –
    I promise to keep writing after TOA and after I get home, if only so that kind people like you can have something to “research.”

    VANG Wife –
    Thank you for your kind comments! As I’m sure you know based on your comment, one of the most frustrating things about coming home is not being able to tell anyone exact dates, due to the whole Operational Security (OPSEC) thing. All I can tell you is that (for the most part) KFOR 8 will be leaving Kosovo at the end of October/beginning of November and we should be home shortly after that.

    Thanks to all of you for your comments. I love knowing that someone, somewhere is reading this.

    Take care and good luck with all that you have coming in the future, whether it be a deployment or the return of a loved one!

    – Terra

  5. ArmyWife September 26, 2007 at 1:11 PM #

    Thanks so much for responding! I know you are very busy! We have been crossing our fingers for the first flight out as he was one of the first ones there! But the army works in mysterious ways! haha. So we can only hope for the best..

    good luck to you!

  6. instatick September 27, 2007 at 8:52 AM #

    ArmyWife –

    You’re absolutely correct, the Army does work in mysterious ways! 🙂

Leave a Reply

