A small, but necessary, vacation

27 Sep

On Tuesday I started a pass in place. What that means is that I didn’t go to work on Tuesday. And I didn’t go to work on Wednesday. And I didn’t go to work today. Tomorrow I’m not going to work either, but I still have “work” to do that will require me to put on a uniform and leave my room for most of the day. This is actually a good thing because, while I do enjoy lounging around in my room and reading and napping, I’m somewhat addicted to being busy.

The best part about this little pass in place, is that it has at last afforded me the time to pack up several boxes and ship them home. To be honest, I’m actually surprised that there’s still stuff left in my room at all seeing as I’ve sent four boxes, a giant footlocker, and a duffel bag home. But still, there’s more stuff. It’s amazing how much stuff I’ve accumulated over the course of this deployment. To be fair, a great deal of it is Army stuff, but then, there’s the books, and the movies, and the random things I’ve purchased here, and the clothes and the…stuff. So much stuff.

Other than that, this pass has been largely uneventful. I went and saw the Simpsons Movie on Tuesday night, then found out that Transformers was playing right after it and somehow got talked into staying for that movie too, which ultimately resulted in me not going to sleep until after midnight, which was actually a good thing because I had forgotten what it was like to stay up past 10. I miss it.

I’ve got to admit, as crappy as the sound is at the Camp Bondsteel Movie Theater, it is quite nice to go see movies for free. I will miss that. I’ll also miss the mountain. And the short commute to work. And not having to do my own laundry. And not paying for gas. And the people (most of them, anyway).

But, with all that said, I’ve got to also admit that I won’t miss communal bathrooms, or roommates, or the chow hall, or the way Kosovo sometimes smells when everyone and their brother decides to burn their trash at the same time, or the ban on drinking alcohol, or wearing a uniform every day.

***

It’s so weird to be this close to the end of this deployment. I can’t explain it, which frustrates me beyond all belief. I tried to explain it to Andrew today, but I couldn’t. It’s just weird. Perhaps it’s due to how used to this life I am, this life as a deployed National Guard Soldier in Kosovo. For the past year and half, this has been my life and that this life is ending just feels weird. That’s the best way I can explain it. It’s weird. Strange. Not sad. Not painful. Just, strange. But still, ever so exciting.

5 Responses to “A small, but necessary, vacation”

  1. titus2woman September 28, 2007 at 6:42 PM #

    You don’t hafta do your laundry? OH HEAVEN! There’s NO alcohol? What’s the history there? I get verclempt like that too, and it’s very frustrating not to be able to express all those thoughts and feelings!

    OH GIRL! You’re almost HOME! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. instatick September 28, 2007 at 6:56 PM #

    Well, there’s alcohol in Kosovo, but we’re not allowed to drink because we carry weapons. I don’t usually miss it, but every now and then, after a really long day, there’s nothing I’d like better than a cold beer.

    We have a laundry service here that does our laundry which is awesome! Washing clothes is definitely something I don’t miss 🙂

  3. titus2woman September 29, 2007 at 5:08 AM #

    Well that was easy and makes PERFECT sense~LOL! My darling said he’ll drink one for ya…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi~lovin’ yer eye photo!

  4. instatick September 29, 2007 at 9:06 AM #

    Hehehe! That’s one thing I’m thankful for – all my friends back home drinking one for me 🙂

  5. titus2woman September 29, 2007 at 3:02 PM #

    Yeah, we got your back, dawg! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

