Neglecting the things that matter(ed)

29 Sep

Do you remember back in March when I made that list of mine? You know, the one with 101 goals that I hoped to accomplish in 1001 days? Remember that? I know I haven’t written about the list once since August, and even then, it was in a half-assed sort of way. I’m sorry.

It seems that, in the (almost) seven months since I started the list, I’ve lost some of my excitement, or maybe (this excuse makes me feel less guilty so we’ll roll with it instead) it’s because I’m in Kosovo and I really can’t accomplish much more while I’m here. I just don’t have access to many of the necessary tools needed in order to complete those goals, like, um, an oven and my own car and, well, America.

So, with all that in mind, and with me having only 30-something days remaining in Kosovo before I hop on a plane and fly across the pond again, I’ve decided to set some priorities in regards to my 101 in 1001 list. In other words, I’m picking five goals that I’d like to accomplish shortly after I get back home. They are, in no particular order, as follows:

  1. #11: Move away from home : By home, I mean my mother’s house which, seeing as I just got divorced, is the current home of all my stuff. I want it all out of that house and into the apartment that I will be moving into in Richmond. All of it. Every last box. This will also involve some purging, as I am somewhat of a pack-rat and have, over the years, found it necessary to keep absolutely useless stuff that I probably haven’t even looked at in five years. I think it’s finally time I simplify.
  2. #30: Find the perfect little black dress : In January, I’m going on vacation and the perfect little black dress WILL accompany me on this vacation because I WILL find it once I get home. It’s out there somewhere, I just need to find it.
  3. #37: Buy a new bed and new bedding : Seeing as the ex got to keep the bed, this is something that I absolutely MUST accomplish immediately upon my completion of this deployment. There isn’t another option unless, of course, I want to sleep in a sleeping bag on the floor. Which I don’t. At all.
  4. #58: Bake cupcakes from scratch : I simply CANNOT wait to bake. Seriously. Plus, it will be the holiday season shortly after I return home which means I can bake for the holidays and try really, really hard not to turn into a giant slug. If you have cupcake recipes that are delicious, please share them with me. Also, any advice on baking cupcakes from scratch would also be very much appreciated seeing as I’ve only ever baked things from a box.
  5. #92: Learn to enjoy wine: See, I’m in Kosovo and seeing as we walk around with weapons, we’re not allowed to drink (It’s called General Order #1 in case you were wondering), so, with all that in mind, drinking is something that I need to catch up on (in a responsible fashion, of course). Seeing as I’m 23 (and a half), I think it’s about time I tackled this task and refined my tastes for alcohol beyond Miller Light and became, at long last, a wine drinker.
4 Responses to “Neglecting the things that matter(ed)”

  1. Tom Awtry September 29, 2007 at 5:55 PM #

    Stick with the beer, it’s cheaper and better for you, but you may want to move up to an import.

    Try a waterbed if the apartment complex you settle in will allow them, they’re inexpensive and comfortable and better for you.

    This is my advice and these are the only two suggestions I offer.

    Take Care,

  2. instatick September 29, 2007 at 6:12 PM #

    Thanks for the advice Tom.

    I do love the beer, and, seeing as I’ve left America because of this deployment, I have broadened my taste in beer a little bit, but still, there’s that little part of me that wants to at least try to like wine. I doubt, however, that I’ll give up my beer consumption as it’s much too delicious.

    The waterbed concept is an interesting one. I will definitely think about it.

  3. Ross October 1, 2007 at 6:04 PM #

    Forget wine, it is expensive and snobby! Get into excellent beers. There are tons of amazing American beers that kick wine’s ass.

    Seriously.

  4. instatick October 2, 2007 at 2:34 PM #

    Alright then, you should give me suggestions for fabulous beers!

Leave a Reply

