At last – the long anticipated arrival

8 Oct

For months I’ve been staring up at the calendar in my office asking myself is it November yet? And now, while November hasn’t arrived yet, KFOR 9 has and that’s just as good in my opinion.  Yes folks, at long last my counterpart, the person that will take over my job, has arrived in Kosovo.  I can’t even tell you how happy this makes me.

Soon, so soon, I will be able to hand over all the responsibility I’ve shouldered for the past year, along with the keys to my office and leave him in charge, because, guess what?  I almost don’t work here anymore!

Really though, watching KFOR 9 arrive on Camp Bondsteel, and watching them go through long (read: boring) briefings reminded me of when I first got here, all those many months ago.  It was November 14th.  It was nighttime and I remember, as we rode from the airport to Camp Bondsteel, that there weren’t any lights on anywhere because, as we’d been told, electricity is scarce in Kosovo.  We went to the chow hall and I remember being impressed that they had vegetables and things to make salads with because we didn’t get those things in Germany (the food in Germany was actually really, really bad.  I couldn’t identify most of it and what I did eat was gross.  German food is not bad, but the food they served in those Army chow halls in Germany was really, really bad.) Having arrived at night, I had no idea that Kosovo is amazing and beautiful and so, upon waking up the next morning, stepping outside and seeing Big Duke in the distance, I was awestruck.  I also remember getting lost A LOT, not because Camp Bondsteel is necessarily confusing, but because I lack a sense of direction and could, probably, get lost inside a cardboard box.

What’s weird now is seeing so many new faces.  While KFOR 8 consists of approximately 1500 soldiers, and while you’d think I’d see new faces all the time since that’s a pretty big number, I’ve gotten used to the same faces and feel like I’ve seen everyone on Bondsteel at least once.  Until now.  Now, thankfully, there are new faces.  KFOR 9 faces, which, well, just rocks.

The only downside I’ve found with the arrival of KFOR 9 is that they brought bad weather.  Cold, wet, gloomy weather.  But really, that’s a small price to pay when the end of this deployment is in sight.

6 Responses to “At last – the long anticipated arrival”

  1. Bobby October 8, 2007 at 10:57 PM #

    Hi I have been reading somethings you have been writing for quite some time now. I just kinda stumbled up on your blogs by mistake. And since you are serving at Camp Bondsteel is really what caught my eye because my wife as well is serving there. She is in finance. I don’t know if I should say her name or not but since there aren’t many females there in Finance you may already know who I am talking about. But I just wanted to say I too am happy about you guys coming home and I know our kids are too. Hope for you a safe return and if you happen to see my wife please tell her I love her and miss her terribly. Be safe and I wish you a safe return.

  2. ArmyWife October 8, 2007 at 11:11 PM #

    Oh =) I am soo excited! Sucks that the weather is gloomy but finally it is so close…the end..There really is an end to deployments..

    God bless you ❤ For what i’ve read and seen you have done an amazing job…

  3. instatick October 9, 2007 at 11:13 AM #

    Thank you both for your kind comments!

    I know that for both of you, with your spouses returning soon, you’re just as excited as I am about the end of this deployment. I’ve oftentimes thought it might be harder for the spouses and family members we leave behind when we deploy, just because you’re stuck in the same place that reminds you of us, while we’re off experiencing new things and places. Just know that I admire folks like you because you make sacrafices right along with us.

    Thank you both for the support you’ve provided to your families and also for the comments and words of kindness and inspiration you’ve left here. Without the love of family and the folks at home, our jobs here would be much, much harder.

    And Bobby, if I see your wife, I’ll let her know you miss her!

  4. Nobody October 9, 2007 at 8:39 PM #

    @instatick –
    That’s exactly how my wife and I felt while I was at Bondsteel. I was off having an adventure; seeing and doing new things. She was stuck at home in the same old routine (minus me.)

  5. TF Patriot July 9, 2008 at 1:51 PM #

    Your writings are extremely easy and pleasant to read. Just thought I’d let you know that. I somehow just stumbled upon this article now and I agree entirely with everything you said. Being home so long now I actually kinda miss the view from my seahut in the morning. You?

  6. instatick July 9, 2008 at 4:43 PM #

    TF Patriot –

    YES! I miss Big Duke SO much!

Leave a Reply

