I would like Mondays to take a hiatus

15 Oct

WARNING: What follows is what happens when I decide, once and for all, that I hate Monday and that, after keeping my cool all day long, I deserve a tangent:

No really. Haven’t we all had enough Mondays? Can’t Monday just go on vacation and come back in a few weeks after we’ve all had some time apart from her (I’m not sure why I think Monday is a her either, but I just do. In fact, I think most inanimate objects are female. See Exhibit A, that rifle I’ve been carrying around since I’ve been deployed.)? I mean, seriously. I’m just going to come right out a say it. Monday, is a bitch. Don’t even try to tell me you don’t agree, because really? She is. Monday is never polite, always rude. Monday starts too early and Monday is just Monday. All in favor of tying up Monday and throwing her in the broom closet for a few weeks, raise your hands and grab the rope.

(And, end tangent and hope for something legible to come from my fingertips.)

Yeah. It’s been a bear of a Monday (just so you know, when I say things like “bear of a Monday,” I get the mental image of a bear running around the woods growling and waving a little name tag that says “Monday.” Am I crazy? Probably, but let’s keep it a secret, okay?).

I had high hopes for this Monday, seeing as my counterpart is here and all and I should be handing him stuff to do and sitting back in my little chair and drinking some coffee that I dumped hot chocolate into and, you know, not being the crazy frantic lady with huge bags under her eyes mumbling things under her breath, but, um, yeah, no. I was the crazy frantic lady all day. ALL DAY. I got to work, my computer made nasty faces at me, people kept coming in and out of my office which is already too full with four people in it, and then I finally got all the notes typed up and prettified for the meeting that I set up for on Monday mornings and I felt all confident about what I was doing and I was showing my counterpart how to do stuff and I took my notes down to office that always makes copies and then it starts. The lady down there says she doesn’t know if she can do it because she doesn’t usually work there and blah blah blah (read: she didn’t want to do it because she’s lazy). So I wait and see what happens (mistake number one, yes?). Then, 20 minutes before I needed the notes to be printed and at everyone’s seat in the conference room, I go back down there and look at the copy lady and she waves her hands in the air and tells me the printer is broken so I take the notes down the hall to the slowest copy machine ever and start making copies (seriously, the pyramids were built quicker than that copy machine makes copies). I don’t want to talk about the amount of time it took me to make copies because it will likely result in me going back down the hall just to kick the copy machine one more time – you know, just for good measure.

And so it was. The day continued on like that with meetings and people pulling me to do other things because, you know, I rock and am good at stuff so people sometimes ask me to do stuff that isn’t my job, which is great and all, but with all the phone calls, meetings, questions, and busy-ness, I have been driven to writing this god-awful blog entry that is full of me complaining and whining. And you know what sucks even more about that? It’s blog entry number 200, which is kinda cool and makes me go wow – nothing exciting happens so what the hell have I written about? But alas, let’s look for the positive, yes?

Is it under the desk? In the shredder (I hope not – I don’t want to go to the emergency room with the positive, that just doesn’t sound good)? In the trash can? Oh yeah, the positive is on the calendar doing a happy dance because October? Yeah, it’s half over and November? Is just around the corner and I think we all know what that means – THE END!

Since this blog entry is already totally incoherent, let me share this with you (possibly for the fifth or sixth time). Since January my friends and I have been asking each other, in a joking manner obviously, if it’s November yet. This has become an every day routine, especially when work gets stressful or when we’re tired and grumpy. And so, seeing as November really is just 15 days away (don’t do the math and tell me I’m wrong, today is over in Kosovo), it with great pleasure that I can almost say that it is, at last November.

Also, to add to this post being incoherent and full of tangents, that mountain that overlooks Camp Bondsteel finally came out of hiding after the bad (read: rainy, cloudy, muddy, wet, cold, gross) weather we’ve had since KFOR 9 arrived and it was nice and a little amusing to watch the Soldiers of KFOR 9 wander around pointing at the mountain saying “wow, it really does exist and wow, it really is pretty and wow, KFOR 8 didn’t lie to us.”

Oh, and did I tell you I’m looking forward to wearing civilian clothes and so on Saturday I ordered this dress which I looove and will look adorable in:

v267070_096.jpg

And lastly, if I have any readers left after this massive tangent of a post that was filled largely with horrible run-on sentences (like this one), thank you for being awesome and leaving great comments and making me laugh and for listening to me gripe and yes, I know whining is quite unbecoming of me, and I promise not to do it again (or at least not until next Monday).

5 Responses to “I would like Mondays to take a hiatus”

  1. ArmyWife October 15, 2007 at 11:06 PM #

    I will join you in your little rant about monday’s! They do suck…But think, One day closer to they day you get to leave…

    Btw- Gorgeous dress =)

  2. instatick October 16, 2007 at 9:19 AM #

    Thanks ArmyWife – I’m glad I’m not alone in hating Mondays and thanks for pointing out the positive -it is one day closer to the day I leave here.

  3. Rich October 16, 2007 at 7:38 PM #

    I have reallt enjoyed reading your post for a long time. I am not why I never posted any comments, but it has been so nice to be over there with your guys if only by reading what your write. My nephew is over there with you and i pray for your safe return every day. With all the talk about Kfor 9, I hate to think about not being able to read your postings.

    I guess I will close with just saying Thanks for all that you have done.

  4. instatick October 17, 2007 at 12:38 PM #

    Rich,

    Thank you for your comments – they mean a lot to me. Just knowing that I can help people feel even a little closer to their deployment family members make me feel great!

    Thank you for being a supportive family member – you’ve got a job that’s just as tough as ours and congratulations on the upcoming return of your nephew!

  5. titus2woman October 18, 2007 at 1:28 PM #

    You will look AMAZING in that dress, girl! Man I wish the days when I looked good… Don’t EVER let yourself go like I have!

    I can’t believe you’re almost home! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

