It’s like losing a leg and a brother in the same day

20 Oct

I feel like part of me is missing today.  A big part.  An important part.  A part that’s been there through this entire deployment.  I know what part it is and please don’t find me silly  for missing it; I really can’t help it. 

It’s my rifle. 

I turned it in yesterday, seeing as it’s almost time to go home.  It’s a strange feeling, not to have it slung across my back everywhere I go.  See, I’ve carried it since August of 2006 and it has become a part of me.  When I get out of the car, I go to grab it from it’s resting place and it’s not there.  Leaving for work this morning I looked around for it before finally realizing that it’s not with me anymore.  All day yesterday, as I walked around Bondsteel running errands, I felt like a part of me was missing.  It’s so strange ya’ll.  I never thought I’d miss it, but I do.  I know it’s silly.  I know it’s somewhat irrational, but still, it’s like missing a limb. 

Yesterday would have been weird enough if the only eventful thing that happened was the turning in of my weapon, but it’s not.  My boss left too.  For good.  He got clearance to go home early in order to attend a school.  We had our ups and downs this year, what with working in an office side by side for an entire year, but he was a good boss.  After 15 months of being together, working side by side, stressing out together and trading the latest gossip, I’m a little sad to see him leave. 

I drove him and his bags over to the place where people leave from and it was a little sad (It’s called the PAX terminal).  I can’t lie.  We hugged and he thanked me for all my hard work this year and as I drove away I got a few little tears in my eyes.  I’ll miss working for him and maybe the tears were there because his departure, more than anything else, really made me realize that this deployment is over.  We’re done.  Mostly. 

Again, the departure of my boss makes me feel like I’ve lost something invaluable.  In an odd way, he’s been like an older brother for me, watching out for me, making sure no one gives me too much shit and having a genuine interest in my well-being. 

Because cliches sometimes capture what I’m trying to say in that marvelously corny type of way, I guess all I have left to say is that this loss of both my weapon and boss is the end of an era.  A very long, very interesting era.

2 Responses to “It’s like losing a leg and a brother in the same day”

  1. nathan11 October 21, 2007 at 1:47 AM #

    I am sad for you to lose the 2 things you rely on. When do you get to actually go home? Sounds like its really close. have a great day
    nate

  2. instatick October 21, 2007 at 8:23 AM #

    My date of departure is real close; however, we can’t give out exact dates of when we’re leaving due to security issues.

Leave a Reply

