Yep, I’m still in Kosovo.

24 Oct

I want to share this really great theory with you. It all started several weeks ago when KFOR 9 arrived. The theory goes something like this: You (the KFOR 8 Soldier) trains your counterpart (the KFOR 9 Soldier). Then, you step back and let them drive. You check in with them every so often and make sure they’ve got a good handle on things. You don’t work much after your counterpart takes over. That sounds logical, right? It sounds like a good, solid theory, unless, of course, you’re me, which, obviously, I am (would like some sentence with those commas?).

The theory of how things are supposed to work does not apply to me. The theory that no good deed ever goes unpunished does apply to me. See, I have managed to pass many of my tasks on to my counterpart but there is one I can’t. It’s called an RSVP list. It’s called me getting RSVPs via email in Albanian that I have to have translated. It’s called people stopping me as I try to take a break to ask my questions. It’s called I’m working entirely too much, more, in fact, than I have in several months.

If you’ve been reading for a while now, you’ll remember that I had another similar RSVP list for the 4th of July. That was hell, but this RSVP list is a whole different monster, plus, I’m working with people who haven’t done this before and really don’t even know how it works. Let me just say that planning an event where you invite the local community onto a secure military base that requires birth dates, ID numbers, and a host of other things is not easy. It is, in fact, somewhat hellish, evil, difficult and demanding and somehow, probably because I’m awesome and a glutton for punishment, I got picked way back in July to stay, along with several others, and help coordinate this event and deal with this RSVP list.

As much as it sounds like I’m complaining right now, fear not! There is a light at the end of the tunnel! It’s called a plane out of here, a (hopefully) short demobilization process and then, home sweet home where I will no longer be writing about being deployed but will, instead, likely start writing about shoes! and clothes! and couches for my new apartment! and cooking! and my (civilian) adventures! Yay!

Ahem.

Has fall/winter descended on the East Coast yet? It’s winter here now, at least as far as I’m concerned, especially when considering that it snowed over the weekend.  Am I going to get off a plane in the States and think it’s still summer or has that all ended? (And yes, I know about things like weather.com, but it’s just more fun to ask the general public).

9 Responses to “Yep, I’m still in Kosovo.”

  1. ArmyWife October 24, 2007 at 10:59 PM #

    Honestly, It depends on the day. yesterday it was 78 degrees..then today its like 45 haha…seriously..just depends on the day!

  2. ArmyWife October 25, 2007 at 1:26 PM #

    Oh I just realized you live in VA..I’m from Mass! =( Sorry just one of those days..

  3. Republic of Kosova October 25, 2007 at 4:36 PM #

    Independence for Kosova.

    Whether in the states is only getting colder.

  4. instatick October 25, 2007 at 4:47 PM #

    Even though you’re from Mass, ArmyWife, I still like to know what’s going on on the east coast. I can’t believe you’re having temperatures in the high 70s when it’s almost NOVEMBER! That’s crazy! I thought Mass was supposed to be cold….

  5. ArmyWife October 25, 2007 at 5:03 PM #

    Yeah! It is crazy! Bet you’re getting excited to head home..still waiting for my husband’s company to leave..just they just sitting there =O rather annoying..

  6. instatick October 25, 2007 at 5:09 PM #

    It’s the hurry up and wait game now for most folks. Most people have been relieved of their jobs, have packed and repacked and READY TO GO! But, you know, it’s the army…nothing is ever quick and easy 🙂

  7. ArmyWife October 25, 2007 at 6:09 PM #

    Yeah I know..He’s just been sitting online all day! just waiting to go..they are all packed and ready..sucks!

  8. titus2woman October 25, 2007 at 6:13 PM #

    It’s been seventies here too, and EXTREMELY dry. It’s raining today~WOOHOOOO! and it feels just a teeny bit chillier. My little front garden looks burnt up, and there have been watering restrictions. Our maple out front is still mostly green and has just a few leaves that are finally starting to turn yellow…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  9. instatick October 25, 2007 at 9:50 PM #

    Sandi – I had heard about the water restrictions and whatnot. That’s no good. It was dry most of the summer here and last winter was pretty dry as well but last week made up for it. I really love fall and hope to make that there are still some leaves on the trees before I get home.

Leave a Reply

