No really, I don’t work here anymore

1 Nov

Today was my last day of work as the SGS NCOIC for MNTF(E), KFOR 8.

Yes, that’s wonderful, but still, at 5 pm today I almost cried. It was went I started writing my out of office message. Writing it made it real.

My final act as the SGS NCOIC for KFOR 8 was to send out the final Transfer of Authority (TOA) attendee list. It’s as done as it’s ever going to be, as it should be seeing as TOA is tomorrow, and it felt weird to send it out and know that I won’t be doing any other SGS things ever again. That list has been just about the only thing I’ve been working on for the last two weeks straight. It’s the reason I went to work each day, all day this week. It’s also why I’ve been stressed.

I’m not going to lie, as 4 PM approached, I got excited. Excited because my work here is done. Excited because I can say I’ve done my best and worked my ass off and achieved the high standard set by my KFOR 7 counterpart. Excited because it’s over. Excited because I (an Army of one or some shit like that) have managed to compile and update (hourly) a list of over 350 invitees to include their dates of birth, ID numbers and a whole pile of other information that we need on hand in order to allow them access to Camp Bondsteel. But then, as 5 approached, I got tears in my eyes and that little lump in my throat appeared.

I wasn’t expecting that. I knew this would be emotional, this leaving of my life, this transition into someone else who does something else. I knew my boss leaving would be hard, and it was, but leaving the office? Completing the job I came to do? Finishing the final task I’ve been dreading all year? The end of work? No. I didn’t think that would be hard.

3 Responses to “No really, I don’t work here anymore”

  1. cecehm721 November 2, 2007 at 1:10 AM #

    You came into this deployment as an Army of One…now you are just supposed to be Army Strong. I look forward to the PAO coverage of the TOA — be proud 🙂

  2. Tom Awtry November 2, 2007 at 6:54 AM #

    I’m sure you did your work to perfection, and I’m not the one to say “Job well done”, since I don’t know you, so all I can say is “Thanks for doing your duty”.

    Have a safe trip home.

    Thanks,

  3. instatick November 3, 2007 at 8:56 AM #

    Thank you both for your kind comments.

Leave a Reply

