The land of the round doorknobs

4 Nov

So that big event that I helped plan and organize? It was Friday (click here to read how it went).  It’s over.  Done.  Finished.  The best part – I’m stress-free right now, spending one last Sunday in Kosovo with absolutely nothing to do.

My stuff is, for the most part, packed.  Yesterday was the Great Post Office Run of 2007, which included the mailing of not one or two, but five boxes.  I turned in my office badge yesterday as well and said one last farewell to the KFOR 9 people because really?  There is absolutely no reason for me to ever see my office again.

All that sadness that I felt when I wrote my last entry?  Yeah, it’s gone.  Well, most of it is.

So, how does it feel to be at the very, very end of an 18 month deployment?

It’s exciting, scary, a little sad, hard work on the nerves, exhausting, making me so freakin’ happy and cause for thoughtful remembrance.  It makes me want to sing John Denver and squeal for joy.

Goodbye Kosovo, it’s been fun, and hello USA, the land of the round doorknobs, I can’t wait to see you!

I’ll try to post something once I get back to the States, but who knows what internet access will be like at the demobilization site, so don’t be surprised if you don’t hear from me for a few days.

6 Responses to “The land of the round doorknobs”

  1. cecehm721 November 4, 2007 at 10:49 PM #

    Good news for you…when you get to demobe, go to MWR and you’ll get the instructions for wireless….and realize that you are indeed back in the 21st century!!! Welcome home 🙂

  2. titus2woman November 5, 2007 at 6:25 PM #

    *WELCOME HOME!* ~whenever ya get here…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. VANG Wife November 6, 2007 at 4:46 AM #

    Congrats on completing your deployment! Let the excitement take over … you’re almost home!!!

  4. Bobby November 6, 2007 at 5:08 AM #

    terra, I am glad for you your time there is over. My wife has been home for about 1 1/2 weeks now and it has really been stressful for the both of us. but at least it is over. I hope you do well when you finally return home. Keep driving on and posting blogs because I have really enjoyed reading. Thanks for keeping us at home posted.
    Bobby

  5. Bobby November 6, 2007 at 5:09 AM #

    also I tried to add you as a friend on myspace but you don’t except request from bands.

  6. instatick November 8, 2007 at 3:56 AM #

    Thank you all for the welcome home messages! They mean a lot!

    And Bobby, try to send me a message on myspace and then I’ll just friend you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

