Back in US of A (but not home)

7 Nov

I made it across the ocean on Monday – which will from here on out be known as the 30 hour day. If you don’t think that’s possible you should know that you’re wrong because when you fly across the Atlantic from Kosovo, you gain six hours. For the record, days should not be 30 hours long. That’s just ridiculous.

We started the process of leaving at 5 AM on Monday in Kosovo. We didn’t get to Fort Dix, New Jersey until about 11 PM on Monday, which, according to my internal clock was actually 5 AM because my internal clock was still set on Kosovo time. We didn’t get to sleep until about 2 AM (8 AM Kosovo time), and then had to be up and ready for briefings around 7 AM on Tuesday. Needless to say, I’m pretty exhausted.

I should be here in New Jersey going through the demobilization process until at least Friday. I’d like to get out of here sooner, but we’ll see how it goes (that means you should keep your fingers crossed for me to get out of here on Friday).

I wrote about leaving Kosovo while I was on the plane flying over Europe. I’m going to post that soon, just because it captures what I felt as our bus left Bondsteel for the last time. It was weird. It was bittersweet. I wish I had better words to describe it, to capture what it felt like, but I don’t.

So yeah, I’m in the USA!

Also, thank you all for the comments you left – they were awesome. You guys have been great through this whole thing and I want to thank you so much for your support – you have no idea how much it means to me.

8 Responses to “Back in US of A (but not home)”

  1. Valerie November 8, 2007 at 1:05 AM #

    Welcome back!

    Thanks for all you did over there.

  2. cecehm721 November 8, 2007 at 3:35 AM #

    WELCOME HOME!!! I hope you get through the muck of demobe and are out of there on Friday. Me…well the kids and I are heading to Ft. Dix tomorrow to fetch my husband. I’d rather drive 3 hours that way than 4 1/2 to Lynchburg. I’ll be the frazzled woman with 3 kids in the car, slowing down to 5 mph with the trunk popped telling him to hurry up and get in before someone changes their mind!

  3. instatick November 7, 2007 at 10:03 PM #

    YAY cecehm721! I’m so glad you get to come and get your husband tomorrow – that’s wonderful and I know you’re excited and I’m sure he is too. It’s FINALLY over! Good luck on the car ride up and back!

    And Valerie – thanks for the thanks – it means a lot. We’ve run into far too many impatient people here and it’s frustrating. It’s nice to know that not everyone is like that and that there are people who appreciate what we’ve done.

  4. Ross November 8, 2007 at 12:17 AM #

    I don’t know you, but huzzah! America! Virginia!

  5. titus2woman November 8, 2007 at 10:59 PM #

    WOOHOOO! I hope it all goes QUICKER than expected! (Realistically I’ve been told by family members that’s not the case, but we can hope and dream, right?) *WELCOME BACK TO THE USA!* (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. open97 » Back in US of A (but not home) - November 8, 2007

    […] here to […]

  2. mytriangles » Back in US of A (but not home) - November 8, 2007

    […] You can read the full story here […]

  3. Around and around we go « questionable rationale - November 7, 2008

    […] and I have been home from the deployment for a year. In fact, exactly a year ago today, I wrote this post about finally making it back to […]

Leave a Reply

