Returning to something less than home

11 Nov

As luck would have it, we did finish the demobilization process on Thursday, but we didn’t leave until Friday evening.  We got on the bus at 6 PM, stopped briefly to drop off our Maryland people in Laurel and then booked it to Ft. Belvoir, Virginia.  We arrived around 10 PM and were greeted by clapping from our family members and handshakes from the 29th ID Commanding General. 

My ride was late, as were the rides of several others, mostly because we were ahead of schedule.  Once my mom arrived, Andrew and I threw our stuff into her vehicle, chatted for a bit and then headed back to his friend Robb’s house where we’ve been ever since. 

Things haven’t gone as planned, which is not surprising.  It just doesn’t feel the way about being back and done that I hoped it would.  There’s no excitement, no friends calling to hang out with me, there’s just nothing. I sent Adam a text yesterday to coordinate the pick-up of my vehicle only to find out that it’s still in the shop getting the damage Adam did to it repaired.  So that sucks, but what’s even worse than that is the lack of activity on my cell phone, the rude attitudes we encountered at Ft. Dix as we went through the demobilization process, and the way I now feel when in crowed places like malls.  It all just kinda freaks me out. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited to be home, or back in Virginia, but I just expected more.  I’m not sure why I expected more, but I do. 

This coming week is going to include finding an apartment, purchasing furniture and continuing the process of adjustment and reintegration.  Hopefully, this will be the fun part, especially since it’s the part I’ve been thinking about for months and months and months. 

6 Responses to “Returning to something less than home”

  1. cecehm721 November 11, 2007 at 3:18 PM #

    Aw Terra — I’m sorry I wasn’t there for the homecoming!! Chaplain Andreasen’s wife has become a great friend of mine (and joining the TFF FRG made more sense than driving 4 hours to Lynchburg for TFRD FRG meetings) she said it would be quick and get you guys out FAST! I’m sorry the time at Dix sucked (you were expecting better ‘tude from Jersey because…). I wish you joy in the adventure of settling in this next week. If you want to vent…feel free to email me…Cheryl

  2. Ash November 11, 2007 at 6:44 PM #

    Hey sweetie, I’m sorry it’s not what you hoped, and sorry I was late – I did try so hard to make it in time, you have no idea…know that I love you and that your family is all overjoyed to have you home again – we missed you!!! And, are looking forward to getting to know the “new you” that you have evolved into during the last year, too. It seems from your blog that you’ve changed so much…love you always, Mom

  3. Liz November 11, 2007 at 7:37 PM #

    Well, silly, if I had any idea you were actually done on Friday I would have called you that night or yesterday. Hell, I’m probably going to call you today now that I know you’re back.

    Of course, you realize, that once things settle down for you we have to hang out (unless you feel like hanging out while things are still hectic – totally up to you).

    LOVES!!!!!

  4. aramos November 12, 2007 at 7:19 PM #

    Sorry your homecoming wasn’t as you expected.
    Hope you get some good hanging out time soon!

  5. titus2woman November 14, 2007 at 12:08 AM #

    So sorry that people were rude to you~that makes me HOPPIN’ MAD! and I’d love to call ya and listen to all of your stories and adventures! and I think YOU ROCK! and I can’t imagine how difficult to feel like life goes on without you after such a HUGE time away and such a big experience. I’m so glad you’re home! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  6. instatick November 14, 2007 at 9:00 AM #

    Thank you all for your comments – you guys rock!

Leave a Reply

