Home. For real this time.

29 Nov

So things have been pretty busy lately, hence my total absence from the internet.  Andrew and I moved into a new apartment in Richmond, which we love, mostly, and we’ve been super busy lately with the whole moving in, unpacking boxes, putting together Ikea furniture thing that we didn’t even have cable installed until today.  That said, and while we do like the apartment we’re in right now, we want a great big outside window so we’ll probably be moving across the hall (literally) in a few weeks or so.  It’s all very exciting and I’ve spent a ridiculous amount of money in the past two weeks but I realized today, as I looked around the apartment, that I’m finally home.  It’s a good feeling, to say the least.

So basically, I’m back. Finally, and trying desperately to catch up what’s been going on in the world.

I think I’m still adjusting a little bit to being back home.  Going shopping isn’t quite as freaky as it was when I first got home and I’m slowly remembering how to cook.  I think the hardest part is missing everyone from the deployment, most notably N, who volunteered to stay on in Kosovo for another rotation. Luckily, now that I’m back online, I can finally get caught up on the happenings of the KFOR 9 rotation.

Last but not least, I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving.

2 Responses to “Home. For real this time.”

  1. Alverna December 2, 2007 at 5:59 PM #

    Happy belated Thanksgiving! I hope you had a wonderful one!

    I cooked my first full blown Thanksgiving dinner this weekend–for both sides of the family (my side and my in-laws). I heard only good things (to my face at least-haha), so I think it turned out really well. It was a 22 lb. turkey 🙂

    I thought about you as I was cooking–when I reached for my spices…

  2. Nikki December 17, 2007 at 4:40 AM #

    OHHH my Gatticus, i miss you soo much! as well as Owen. MAJ Totman our KFOR 9 LNO was just visiting our office and told me to tell you that he still reads your blog…i told him that i haven’t heard from you but becuase your probably like me…when we get home we usually don’t check out AKO accounts. So i asked him to show me your blog and well…here i am. I thought it would be easier to get a hold of you this way. Words can’t describe how much i miss you and owen. But i’m counting down the days until i see you two again. Less than 7 months remaining! love ya, Nik-

Leave a Reply

