2k7: The year in reviewiness

31 Dec

First, let me just say I’m sorry for not writing very much lately. It seems that, while I was in Kosovo, I had something to write about, something that was easy to write about, something that was, it seems, somewhat detached from myself. I’m speaking, of course, about the deployment. But that’s all over now and I’m back home and everything that seems to happen in my life is rather personal and therefore I find myself ignoring the little conscience (or devil) inside of me that keeps chanting for a blog post and so nothing gets written and I just end up feeling more frustrated with myself than before. And that’s all just silly, really.

So, here goes, the year in review.

January

I started 2007 in Kosovo. I distinctly remember going to sleep at 10 PM on New Year’s Eve with more than a little bitterness. I’m pretty sure that was the first time I haven’t stayed up to welcome in the New Year since I was about six. And then, the next day, it was 2007 and I went to work because it was Monday and I was spiteful all day long. But really, that’s not surprising. Spite and Terra seem to go together quite well.

In all truth, the deployment wasn’t that bad. In fact, it wasn’t bad at all. I’d be lying if I didn’t say I miss it just a little bit every now and then, especially the people I got used to seeing every day for 18 months.

February

All that I seem to remember about February is that I was bitter, angry, and arguing with my ex a lot. I tried to focus on the good, but still, I was inevitably sucked down by bullshit. And, there was Valentine’s Day, and really, who needs that?

March

419060449_c2b9af274c_m.jpg

In March, I started this, my sometimes neglected 101 in 1001 list. It is, obviously, a work in progress, but even though I tend to neglect it a little bit, I still love it. Setting goals for myself is something I’ve neglected doing in the past and I’m glad that I finally sat down and thought about what I want out of the next two and a half years of my life.

Also in March, I turned 23, and got cards with hilarious misspellings, as seen from the picture. I’ve always harbored an unhealthy amount of hatred for birthdays and last year’s was no exception.

As always, March weather was ridiculous, especially in Kosovo, with snow falling at the very end of the month, much to my distress.

April

Like every April before it,I mourned the loss of my friend David, who died in 2000. Sure, it was the seven year anniversary, but some wounds never fully heal.

I also embraced my title of Mass Email Gatti and marveled at my oftentimes laugh-out-loud funny office. I will forever have great memories of working in that office, regardless of how many times it nearly drove me insane. Then there was the tragedy at VT, something I still don’t have the words to talk about.

May

terra.jpgEventually, after the slow creeping of April, May hit and I left Kosovo for my mid-tour leave and it was awesome. Being free for the first time in too long was amazing and, just as I had expected, cruising down the highway felt unbelievably freeing. But then, getting my first flat tire was, er, upsetting. But, I did get an awesome haircut and that kinda, but not really, made up for it.

In May, I moved most of my stuff out of my ex’s house, said goodbye to him, the house we lived in together, and the dogs we had raised together. Suddenly, in the midst of a deployment, I had reached the end of another chapter in my life.

Like all good things, my leave ended, and I went back to Kosovo. I expected to be bummed that leave was over, but I wasn’t. I was ready to get back into the swing of things, ready to get on with the end since the beginning was finished. Also, it rained almost the entire month of May and that might have made me a little bitter and spiteful.

June

terra1.jpgJune came in with some rain left of from May, I almost got struck by lightening, but then, I went to Bulgaria and got my head mushed.

And oh, Bulgaria was awesome. It’s nice to have to gone to someplace like Bulgaria, a place where so few other people have gone. We had fun, my friends and I, and my only regret remains that we didn’t get to spend more time there.

Things started to get busy in June, as we geared up for our 4th of July celebration. Each day seemed longer than the last and in the midst of the madness, I escaped briefly to admire children and roses. It might have been the only reason I survived June.

July

746463683_27c43ffcf8_m.jpgOh, July. I remember little about the first three days of July, as I’m sure I spent them in my office complaining. But the 4th of July, I remember. See, we had a celebration on the 4th of July and it caused a great deal of work for me and somehow, I survived. Despite all the legwork I put in on the 4th of July event, I spent the entire day (until 9 PM) in the office doing absolutely nothing except for awaiting catastrophe.

Also on the list of cool things I got to do in the month of July, was spending Bastille Day with the French in Kosovo.

August

I count August as the month that reality hit. I finally realized that I wasn’t going to be deployed forever and that, eventually, I would have to go home and live a life. I also realized that my life at home had changed, dramatically and that nothing was as I had left it. I spent a lot of time lost in contemplation in August. I also started the countdown to the end and began writing blogs about what Kosovo, and the deployment, were like in order to help KFOR 9 understand what the hell Kosovo is like.

Two really big things happened in August – the death of a US Soldier on Camp Bondsteel, and my divorce was finalized. And that’s really all I have to say about that.

September

terragatt.jpgSeptember was mostly spent in Warrior Leader Course. I excelled in WLC, something that I found rather shocking. I expected to fail miserably, to hate every day of WLC, but in the end I made Commadant’s List and made 17 new friends.

October

andrewhurt.jpgOctober kicked off the holy-crap-I’m-almost-out-of-here countdown and left me dizzy with emotion. Andrew broke his arm. I made of fun of him for it, naturally. I met two incredibly adorable children. KFOR 9 arrived and I began the tedious process of teaching them what I had learned. Monday’s turned evil all over again, my boss left way before I did, leaving me to handle the madness of the end of KFOR 8 all by myself, I turned in my weapon, I worked my ass off trying to get everything right for TOA, and Andrew turned 27 on Halloween.

In November I finally stopped working, although what I thought was my last act as the SGS NCOIC, wasn’t. I nearly cried as I left my office for the last time, for reasons I still can’t explain. We left Kosovo on November 5th, landed briefly in Ireland to refuel, and hit Ft. Dix, New Jersey at bedtime. Ft. Dix was what it was with mass amounts of paperwork, a few thank you’s, and the end of the deployment.

After a week of homelessness, Andrew and I moved in together, seeing as we’d somehow fallen in love. We had entirely too much fun picking out furniture and decorating our apartment and realizing the extent of feelings for one another. Since I haven’t talked about it yet on this blog and have, instead, skirted around what our relationship is, let me say this – we’re madly, completely, crazy in love with each other. More on that later though.

December came and brought more of the same for Andrew and I, seeing as we’ve made a commitment to being bums for a little bit. We went to Hollywood and enjoyed history and then spent Christmas with his family, looking a lot like this most of the time:

andrew-and-terra-xmas.jpg

And now, here we are, at the eve of another year, 2008. I’m ready for it. I think. 2007 was pretty fucking exciting, but I’ve got high hopes for where 2008 will take me.

One Response to “2k7: The year in reviewiness”

  1. (((((HUGS))))) sandi January 8, 2008 at 4:18 AM #

    OH Terra! Your pics are really, really beautiful! *HAPPY NEW YEAR!* (((((HUGS))))) sandi~we’re really not gonna ever see each other, are we… Give it to me straight~I can handle it!

Leave a Reply

