The obvious (or, the best news ever). Let me tell you it.

27 Jan

I’ve dropped a few hints about this, but in case I haven’t made it as obvious as I thought I did, Andrew and I got married in Vegas.

And then we forgot how to open our eyes when people take pictures of us.

wedding-pic.jpg

Now, for whatever reason, immediately after I tell someone I got married again, I get a little defensive, as if waiting for whoever I’ve told to ask me if I’m totally crazy. And I’m not. Just so you know. I know I got married and divorced once before. Yeah, that happened. It didn’t work. Yeah, I’m only not-quite 24. And yeah, I got married again because holy crap it felt like the bestest, most right thing in the whole world. And you know what? I’m happier than I’ve ever been before. Seriously. Like my heart, or something, is overflowing with glee. And whatnot.

Ahem. Good. I’m glad we got that out of the way. I’m not sure why it’s necessary. Maybe it’s the amount of times certain people asked me if I was sure this was what I wanted and having to answer, fiercely, that yes, god dammit, yes, this is what I want. I know better than to make the same mistake twice and lock myself into something I don’t want and trust me when I say I asked myself over and over and over again if this is what I wanted and every single time myself answered that YES! This is what I need, want, have to have!

So, yay! I’m married!

Oh, and let me just say that there’s nothing better than being married to your best friend.

I really don’t want to get all mushy and whatnot but still. I got married. And it was awesome. And I was nervous and anxious and it was just so damn awesome and holy crap! I’m freakin’ happy. Crazy happy. Wicked happy. And so, so, so in love with the wonderful man that is now, finally, my husband.

Have you ever met someone and then immediately recognized that they are awesome and that you have to be friends with them? Yes, no, maybe? Well, that’s what it was like when I met Andrew. And what I love, what I really, ultimately, love the most about our relationship is that we were best friends first. I love that we developed a standard of honesty through our friendship before we ever shared a kiss and I love that the importance of honesty in our relationship has stayed with us as our relationship has changed shape. I love that I could tell him anything, that I can cry openly in front of him about things I haven’t EVER cried about in front of other people. I love that I can laugh with him, be the silly self that I am with him, be as absolutely weird as I want in front of him, talk with him, snuggle with him, work with him and just be with him. It’s amazing. It’s wonderful. It’s the best thing since veggie fried rice, and, in case I haven’t made it obvious yet, I am happy. Truly, completely, ridiculously happy.

And now, feel free to go puke up little pink hearts and whatnot, because I might.

8 Responses to “The obvious (or, the best news ever). Let me tell you it.”

  1. Valerie January 27, 2008 at 1:29 PM #

    You look beeeeeeeautiful! Congratulations!

  2. Michelle January 27, 2008 at 3:08 PM #

    I’ve been reading your blog since you were in Kosovo. My husband is with KFOR9 and I was seeing what it was like there, but you are such a likeable person and your blog is so enjoyable that I’ve kept reading it. I know what you mean about being best friends first–that’s what happened with us. Although some people are going to be “downers” on you about this, YOUR happiness matters the most. It brought tears to my eyes reading how happy you are. And you are an absolutely gorgeous bride, eyes closed and all. 😉 Congratulations!!!!!!!

  3. instatick January 27, 2008 at 7:28 PM #

    Thank you both for your congratulations – they mean a lot!

    And Michelle, thank you for your words. Your comments brought tears to my eyes! 🙂 Also, if my count is right you’ve only got about 5 and half months until your husband comes home and that’s just awesome!

  4. kirby January 28, 2008 at 12:09 AM #

    I’m only a new reader… I thought you were already married. Whoops. Anyway, congratulations! You look stunning!
    And I know exactly what you mean about the Instant Recognition of Just How Awesome someone is.
    Quite frankly, if you’re puking pink hearts, I’ll join you.

  5. titus2woman January 28, 2008 at 12:22 PM #

    NO.WAY! *CONGRATULATIONS!* No judgement here~I’m so sick of being judged I wanna puke! I SO understood your anonymous blog idea, but I’m glad you’re not gonna.

    Anyhoo, your pics are all GORGEOUS, and I am SO EXCITED for y’all! WOW! I’m actually sheddin’ a little tear over here….

    Can’t wait to see your pillow! and I am another one of those crazy early people too~I can SO relate! (((((HUGS)))) sandi~just, WOW! with ~smiles~

  6. Brad January 28, 2008 at 4:10 PM #

    Well it’s about time! Like we didn’t see this one coming! LOL Congratulations, you deserve the happiness…

  7. instatick January 28, 2008 at 9:15 PM #

    Kirby – thanks for puking little pink hearts with me – isn’t is super fun sometimes?

    Sandi – thank you and seriously I need to come visit you soon now that most of the craziness is over! HUGS!!

    Brad – thank you and yeah, I know. It was probably obvious to others before it was obvious to us.

  8. Nicki Fellenzer January 29, 2008 at 3:12 PM #

    Well, duh! LOL

    Not like we all didn’t see it coming!

    Marrying your best friend…. why does that disturb me on a certain weird level? 😉

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

