Freakin’ Awesome Honeymoon Stop #2 : Ocho Rios, Jamaica

13 Feb

Before I jump into the telling of my experiences in Jamaica, I’ve got to say that seeing old friends you haven’t seen in a long, long time is awesome. I went to lunch yesterday with a friend I’ve known since high school. I haven’t seen said friend in about two years at least and we probably haven’t sat down and talked since the beginning of college. Let me just say it was great, that I love friends I can go without seeing and then instantly click with all over again, and finally, that it’s nice to know that even though I was gone for a long time, and even though I’ve changed so, so much, I’m still me at the core and the friends I made years and years ago still love me. I know that’s wretched cheesy, but there’s a large part of me that feels disconnected from the me I was before the deployment. Yesterday’s lunch helped me feel more connected to that.

Again, sorry for the cheese.

jamaica.jpg

So Jamaica. In thinking about it, I’m still mostly at a loss for words. It was a whirlwind of excitement, beautiful scenery and someplace very, very different from what I know.

The first thing we did in Jamaica was hop on a bus. As it turns out, they drive on the wrong side of the road in Jamaica, which I thought was awesome because I’ve never actually traveled anywhere where they do that so yay – I can finally say I’ve been someplace where they drive on the wrong side of the road. After a short tour of the city of Ocho Rios, we headed toward Dunns River Falls, an absolutely beautiful waterfall that ends on a beautiful beach.

us-falls.jpg

Long story short, we climbed the 600 ft. falls. It was exhilaratingly, awesome, beautiful and one of the coolest things I’ve done in my whole life. Even better, was the realization that I was making an awesome memory while it was happening. Does that make sense? It had something to do with having so much fun, being so happy and being totally and completely in love with Andrew and totally and completely carefree. I highly recommend climbing a waterfall, just in case, you know, I didn’t make it obvious that it’s one of the coolest things ever.

After the waterfall experience, Andrew decided we had to get a beef patty since, you know, we were in Jamaica, and apparently, that’s what you should eat when you go to food-jam.jpgJamaica. This wasn’t an easy feat, seeing as escaping the chain-link fenced-in tourist trap is rather difficult. But we did it. We asked no fewer than five people for directions and finally, after a ten minute walk around the chain link fence from hell, we made it, got delicious beef patties, and, as an added bonus, got change back in Jamaica currency, which works well in my plan to collect currency from the cool places I go.

And then, to make our Jamaica experience complete, we headed back to a bar within the limits of the tourist-trap chain-link fence and scored ourselves some Red Stripes, because, you know, drinking Red Stripes in Jamaica is extremely important, as least to us anyway and as it turns out, they compliment beef patties quite well.

The only thing I didn’t like about Jamaica, was the chain-link fence. I wished then, and I wish now, that we’d had more time to explore Jamaica outside of the tourist areas. It’s hard to really experience Jamaica when you only have a day to explore. Not surprisingly, things were actually totally different outside the chain-link fence, even if we were only outside of it for a few minutes to grab our beef patties. I can’t really explain it, but it was different, calmer maybe, more authentic.

All in all, Jamaica ended up being one of our favorite stops during the whole cruise and I really, really want to go back there right now, especially since it’s raining and cold and generally gross outside.

I miss palm trees. A lot.

4 Responses to “Freakin’ Awesome Honeymoon Stop #2 : Ocho Rios, Jamaica”

  1. alvernah February 14, 2008 at 11:46 AM #

    *sigh*
    How freakin’ romantic! I’m jealous…

    Happy Valentine’s Day 🙂

  2. Andrew February 17, 2008 at 4:00 PM #

    Don’t forget the Cocoa Bread!!!

  3. titus2woman February 18, 2008 at 4:33 PM #

    OH I loved reading this! and GIRL! Look at those GUNS! WOOHOOO! You are sooo GORGEOUS! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. instatick February 18, 2008 at 5:47 PM #

    Thanks Sandi 🙂

Leave a Reply

