Farewell to grumpy, hello to happy

25 Feb

I changed something on my 101 in 1001 list recently. It’s cheating – maybe – but I don’t care. It’s not a big change, but a necessary change. Instead of making a list of 101 things that I love about myself, which seemed like a good idea at the time but turned out to be crazy difficult, I’ve decided to switch gears just a bit and make a list of 101 things that make me happy. It’s still positive, still a step toward being happier with life and myself, and, after a rather crappy holy-crap-I’m-almost-24-and-this-(meaning nothing)- is-what-I’ve-done-with-my-life-kind-of-day on Saturday, I think it’s time to start. Plus, lists are one of the loves of my life and starting a list really, really makes me happy and hopefully it will keep my mind off such things as birthdays and on such things as butterflies, chocolate, and other, similar, cheesy things.

#81 – Create a list of 101 things that make me happy. 1 – 10

  1. Salt. I put it on everything. My taste buds and I cannot comprehend such ideas as “too much salt.” As far as I’m concerned, “too much salt” is a myth.
  2. Butterflies.  No, really, I love them.  They’re graceful and beautiful and free and really, what’s not to love about them?  I even have one tattooed on my back, although it’s a rough and tough tribal butterfly and not a dainty little butterfly.
  3. Tattoos.  I have five and while I haven’t gotten a new one since I was 17, there’s something about tattoos, on anyone, that I find incredibly beautiful and intriguing.
  4. Sewing.  To be honest, I’m not really good at it, but I do enjoy it.
  5. My husband, naturally.  I didn’t put him first because that’d be entirely too adorable and sweet and I think we all know how I feel about things that are adorable and sweet.
  6. Tea.  I think the best days I have are the days I start with a cup of  tea.
  7. Taking pictures.
  8. Lists.  I love them, need them, might even feed off of them.  I’m not an organized person at all; however, lists make me feel like I can fake being an organized person.
  9. Water. Besides tea, and the occasional beer or glass of wine, it’s about the only thing I drink anymore.
  10. Sunshine.

Well, that’s a start anyway, although now I’m a little irritated that I had to think so hard to come up with a list of just ten things that made me happy.  I hate being in a funk for reasons that I can’t even completely grasp.  It’s annoying.  I’d rather be happy, I just don’t seem to know how to be completely happy right now.  I hate birthdays.  I really, really hate birthdays.  I’d like to not have one this year, actually.

    One Response to “Farewell to grumpy, hello to happy”

    1. titus2woman February 28, 2008 at 10:15 PM #

      So what’s your tea of choice? I am soo into CHAI!!!! but I like experimenting and trying new ones. I seem to especially like the ones you use milk in….

      As a fellow list-maker, I really like the idea of this list!!!! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

    Leave a Reply

