Sappitty-do-dah and other things made of cheese

5 Mar

I like to play the tough girl card. It’s something I’ve been doing for years now. But at my core, at the very heart of what it means to be Terra, I love all things corny, sappy, and cheesy. For years I’ve been denying this, rolling my eyes at sappy “I Love You” cards and denouncing all things adorable, sweet and even romantic. But that’s not really me. Not at all really. The tough girl image I’ve created for myself is largely left over from high school when I knew I had to either be tough and mean or be weak and get beaten. Really, it was a no-brainer and so, since high school, I’ve been acting the part of the tough girl while internally coveting all things cheesy, sappy, and corny.

The only reason I’m even talking about this is because this past weekend was my first drill weekend since I got back from the deployment. This means that, after four months or more, I finally got to some of the awesome people I was deployed with. And it was great. And I loved every minute of the weekend and really, it filled me with thoughts of writing a horribly sappy blog all about camaraderie and the bonds that Soldiers forge when they’re deployed together and I really didn’t want to write something that sappy and so I just didn’t write because really, writing about the sappiness just seems threatening to me and I hate cliches. But that’s silly. Because I do love the people I was deployed with and the bonds you forge with the people you deploy with really are special. Not only that though, those guys (and gals) are my family. They were, for a long 18 months, pretty much the only system of support I had. And I love them. Every single one of them, even the ones that I mumbled about under my breath to my boss.

Oh – and that’s another thing. I hadn’t seen my boss since October when he left and I finally, FINALLY, got to meet his wonderful family and just trust me when I say it was awesome to see him because really, when you work in an office with someone for a year, you’re bound to develop some sort of bond and I will always think of my boss as a big brother type person who helped me when I was upset and kept me out of trouble during the deployment. And also, holy crap his kids are beautiful.

The other good part about drill, other than seeing everyone and feeling like I was at a family reunion, was getting to tell everyone that Andrew and I got married. It was awesome. I had been worried about coming out about our relationship for so long, mostly because I didn’t want people to think I was making another mistake, and telling all of our Army people was awesome. While people really weren’t that surprised since Andrew and I have been best friends since the day we met, it was great to hear a few gasps of surprise. Oh and also, instead of knowing all the gossip, it was weird to actually be the gossip.

5 Responses to “Sappitty-do-dah and other things made of cheese”

  1. Ash March 5, 2008 at 8:12 PM #

    I love your last comment, T. – “to be the gossip…”

  2. Nicki Fellenzer March 6, 2008 at 12:11 PM #

    Blech! SAP! 😉

    It was good to see you guys. But guess who has her “I’m out of the fucking Guard” orders now? he he

  3. instatick March 6, 2008 at 4:46 PM #

    Yeah, you suck Nikki. Even though you’re out, and a civilian now, you still have to keep in touch!

  4. Nicki Fellenzer March 7, 2008 at 8:45 AM #

    Hey, WHO was the one who called you the other day? WHO was the one who chatted with you on the phone for nearly 1/2 hour? Hmmmmmmm? I’m good at keeping in touch. And my cat misses you.

  5. instatick March 7, 2008 at 8:55 AM #

    Alright. Point taken.

Leave a Reply

