Lack of Insulation = Constant Entertainment

21 Mar

My apartment is awesome, but lacks insulation in the walls, floors and ceiling. This means in the mornings I have the luxury of hearing the maintenance guys cussing at each other in their workspace located directly below my apartment, in the evenings my TV competes with the TVs of both my next door neighbors to be heard, and, best of all, I get to hear all the fights my upstairs neighbors get into.

Last night was awesome. They were fighting about jeans. Seriously, it’s better than TV listening to them scream at each other. I think the girl has a serious case of the Crazy going on right now because, really, jeans?! You’re fighting and crying about jeans?!

The upside is that it helps put the silly stuff I get grumpy about into perspective, provides soap opera-like entertainment, and lets me know I’m not the only girl in the world who occasionally suffers from the Crazy.

cookie.jpg

In other news, I think I’m about to spend another day baking. Earlier this week I spent a day in the kitchen and made two loaves of bread, two batches of pita bread, peanut butter cookies, chicken salad, and boiled eggs. It was a busy day. But today, today I want to make four loaves of bread (for the freezing), and maybe some cookies too because well, my cookies are awesome.

Also, I need to stop using the word awesome all the time.

6 Responses to “Lack of Insulation = Constant Entertainment”

  1. Rachel March 21, 2008 at 12:23 PM #

    oooh, sounds yummy. :o) gotta love crazy neighbors… sometimes, you just can’t resist turning the tv down and laughing at someone elses expense.

    xo

  2. Laurie March 21, 2008 at 1:53 PM #

    Yum. Those look awesome:)

  3. Alverna March 21, 2008 at 4:35 PM #

    You’re making me HUNGRY! Those cookies look awesome… 🙂

    As to the lack of insulation providing entertainment, I lived in one of those apartments (a converted hotel) my sophomore year at OSU. We had a triple on the end of the building, which meant that we got “street corner traffic”–lots of peeing drunks under our windows, domestic disputes, etc. My room was next to the couple who humped constantly–their headboard literally thumped against my bed day and night (until I moved my bed against the other wall). The people above us, well, we really weren’t sure what they did. They played some game that sounded like it consisted of bowling + basketball. Their favorite time to play was around 2-4am. We also had a bum that liked to hang out in our hallway. My roommate offered to make him food a few times, but I can’t remember if he accepted or not.

    Anyway, I hope your apartment offers the entertainment, minus the pissing drunks & the bum!

  4. titus2woman March 22, 2008 at 1:22 AM #

    OH GIRL! You KNOW that I DEFINITELY suffer from the Crazy! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. Michelle March 27, 2008 at 10:03 PM #

    Haha…this is so true! I hated when I could hear everything in everyone’s apartment all around me! I’m sure my husband and I entertained them as well. I know I get the Crazy you’re talking about sometimes. 😉

    Also, could you give me your chocolate chip cookie recipe? I want to send my husband some and mine never look this good. And those braided roll things look amazing!!

  6. instatick March 29, 2008 at 6:48 AM #

    Michelle, of course I’ll share my cookie recipe with you. I’ll email it to you later today.

Leave a Reply

