Critter of habit

23 Apr

I am a critter of habit.  Since I’ve started my new job, I have developed not just my morning routine, but little routines within the overall morning routine.  Like the order in which I do things in shower.  And the order in which I put my clothes on.  It’s a little silly and I’d be a liar if I didn’t admit that I get a little obsessive compulsive when it comes to my mornings and my routines and, well, a whole bunch of other random and ridiculous things that shall, for now, remain secret.

For the past two days Andrew has gotten up with me because, for once, he’s not working absolutely ridiculous hours.  This has completely thrown off my routine.  And made me a little grumpy.  And maybe a little snippy too.  I mean really, it shouldn’t totally throw off my entire routine in the morning just to give the bestest of best hubbies in the world a KISS!  Seriously.

Is everyone else this into their routines or is it just me?  I get the feeling that a lot of people have routines, but what I want to know is if everyone else gets grumpy and snippy when their routine gets thrown off even a little bit.

And also, I have no sense today.  At all.  It’s like the part of my brain that controls knowing whether to use to or too, and their, they’re and there has shut down.  I’ve messed it up like four times today and seriously?  What is wrong with me?!  I thought for a while that it might be because every time I type something at work, the girl I’m replacing is watching me, but no.  I did it after I got home too.  Hopefully I’ll regain my grasp of the English language tomorrow.

4 Responses to “Critter of habit”

  1. nicoleantoinette April 23, 2008 at 6:08 PM #

    Yes! I get crazy when my routine is altered. I guess I’m just not a very flexible person.

    Oh, and in the shower? It’s shampoo, face wash, conditioner, body wash. 🙂

  2. Lucia April 23, 2008 at 8:48 PM #

    Since I got a puppy, the whole orderly morning thing has totally gone out the windah. The one thing I can count on is that she’ll be right there, all about the face love, a big slurrrrp right across mah chops. And then i have to get right up and run her outside before she pees on the carpet. All before I get to even brush my teeth. Sheesh. Is it worth the loss of routine? Yeah, it is.

  3. Laurie April 24, 2008 at 11:54 AM #

    Seriously, I could have written this post! I am a stickler with the morning routine and the routines within it.

    I also get a little cranky when my husband and I are trying to get ready at the same time.

    Shower: face wash, body wash, shampoo, conditioner

    🙂

  4. anOCgirl April 28, 2008 at 8:37 AM #

    my routine is messed up every other monday when my bf doesn’t have to go to work (i know, lucky). i totally have to work around my routine so that i don’t wake him up. and now with the two kitties, one of which is really vocal, my routine is totally screwed when i don’t have my bf to help me in the a.m. with the feedings and litter box cleanings. ay. it’s nearly enough to make me want to let one of the kitties pounce on him to wake him up! i wanna sleep in on mondays too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

