Flashback Friday: The Dorky Edition

25 Apr

See the dork in the glasses on the far left?  Yeah, that’s me.

This picture was taken circa 1999.  I was 15 years young.  A baby, really.

In case it’s not obvious, I was in a play, cause I was a theater dork, which should be obvious.  In fact, deep in my little heart of hearts, I still am a theater dork.  That’s probably why I’m so loud.   So, I guess the good news is that I didn’t spend most of my high school years standing around looking awkward just because.  No, I stood around looking awkward for the enjoyment of others.  I’ve always been a giver like that.

Anyway, the play was called My Fatal Valentine. It was an audience participation murder mystery.  I played a security guard at a romance novel award show.  Seriously.  It was flippin’ awesome.

The number one thing I was NOT in high school: Cool.

5 Responses to “Flashback Friday: The Dorky Edition”

  1. turnonthestars April 26, 2008 at 1:23 AM #

    I did a play at school once. I got to dump jelly on one of my friend’s heads.. because her head was supposed to explode at the end. Best part of high school.

  2. Alverna April 26, 2008 at 12:05 PM #

    Yeah, I was in the not cool club, too. And when our homeschool group put on a play my freshman year–yeah, I got cast as the prince. Yo, I know I didn’t have boobs then, but I’m still a GIRL! Of course, we put on that play at a a few nursing homes & I honestly think some of the elderly residents didn’t catch on that I wasn’t really a boy.

    (Fortunately for me, four years later the ‘Freshman 15’ came along and boom, I had boobs.)

    Aren’t old pic’s fun?

    BTW, thanks for the comment you left me yesterday, it made me feel better 🙂

  3. Rachel April 26, 2008 at 3:28 PM #

    ahahahaha. I LOVE IT! you’re the best. now i’m not the only one with embarrassing old high school pics on my blog. :o) xoxoxox

  4. anOCgirl April 28, 2008 at 8:34 AM #

    ha! i wasn’t cool in high school either. and honestly, i’m not really that cool now. i’m comforted by the fact that a lot of the cool kids in my HS are now or have spent some time in rehab.

  5. titus2woman May 4, 2008 at 10:56 PM #

    See in high school I actually WAS cool~it’s the NOW that I’m not so cool~LOL! I was also a theater dork though and LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT! (((((HUGS))))) sandi~didn’t know you were a theater gal too~but it totally makes sense now that I know!

Leave a Reply

