Got the FiOS

4 Jun

Because I have a raging hatred for Comcast Cable, Andrew and I got Verizon FiOS installed yesterday.  And I love it.  Or, at least, it kicks the butt of Comcast, but really, that didn’t take much.  The internet is faster than Comcast’s, and the picture on my television is about a gavillion times better (finally, my massive TV is living up to it’s potential), and, because Verizon is cheaper, we got a phone line installed and, even more impressive, we actually have a phone plugged into the line.  Granted, I don’t know our phone number and will likely never use it.

Also, I got DVR and HD, two things Andrew and I have been wanting forever but didn’t get because the mere thought of giving Comcast more money made me sick to my stomach.  It’s possible we’re the last people on the planet to get DVR.

The bad part though?  The guide doesn’t work yet, which means I can’t actually use my DVR yet.  Apparently they are having all sorts of problems with installation my apartment building.  In fact, we were the first ones to have working FiOS.  Which means we’re awesome.  Obviously.

4 Responses to “Got the FiOS”

  1. Laurie June 5, 2008 at 9:04 AM #

    Oh no – a DVR teaser. You’re going to love it! I think my DVR is currently my best friend.

  2. Andrea June 5, 2008 at 3:15 PM #

    I have a similar hatred for Time Warner Cable, but they’re basically the only cable company in my town. So. . . in that aspect. . . I’m screwed! Glad you finally got better service though. 🙂 Lovely blog!

  3. anOCgirl June 6, 2008 at 7:30 AM #

    you’re not the last person w/o DVR. that would be me. and i had no idea verizon was cheaper than comcast! i’m going to have to convince the boo to make the switch. i HATE comcast.

  4. Jonathan April 4, 2009 at 4:51 PM #

    Hello fellow richmond blogger!
    I share you hatred for Comcast. Just this past week they disconnected my line and put a lock on the box (I live in an apartment, so all the lines are in one box) so I can’t reconnect it! No Fios until monday when verizon comes out.

Leave a Reply

