Feeling HOT, HOT, HOT!

7 Jun

On Monday we put in a request to have our air conditioning looked at because it became apparent that it was not working at all.

Now it’s Saturday, a crawlspace door and a ladder and hanging out in my hallway, but still, I don’t have air conditioning.

Right now, it’s 88 in my apartment, but 98 outside, which actually feels like 108. Yeah. It’s a little warm.

Tomorrow is it supposed to be 103 out, which I’m guessing will probably feel like the depths of hell.

Luckily, our bedroom and bathroom seem to remain quite a bit cooler than our kitchen and living room and are both currently about 82.

—-

In other news, that involves a little less complaining, we took the dog to the emergency vet clinic last night because, and yeah, this is too much information, she had blood in her pooh. I’d like to say this about it:

Dog Exam After Hours: $85

Blood Work: $65

Fecal Exam: $26

Knowing my dog is not going to die: Priceless

4 Responses to “Feeling HOT, HOT, HOT!”

  1. Ash June 8, 2008 at 3:41 PM #

    Ah, sweetie, so sorry to hear about the AC. I can commiserate – we had a mega thunderstorm here on tuesday, and lost power promptly at 2pm on tuesday afternoon. We didn’t get it back until, um, friday evening around 6pm. At that point, it was 86 degrees in my room, with 68% humidity, so it felt like, well, hell. Me being completely destroyed by anything above 75 degrees, I basically spent the powerless days sleeping in an uneasy coma, and grumpily awake trying to be as absolutely still as possible so as not to induce further fevers. I think as one point it got up to about 103 degrees…my temperature, not the room temp.

    On another subject – WHAT IS WRONG WITH MY GRANDDOG!!! I’m so sorry to hear that Sadie-dog was sick – is she okay now? What did the vet say?

    And is she coming to stay with me? And, is she any better around cats, cause I’m kinda worried about her being here for two weeks with the current Dusty/Sadie relationship. I might have to play dog whisperer…

  2. anOCgirl June 9, 2008 at 8:23 AM #

    oh my lordy. i’m so sorry about the AC. i’ve been there before so i can totally feel your pain. hope it gets fixed soon.

    last week, i spent $300 because gracie has diarrhea. i don’t even spend that much on myself when i have diarrhea. i’m thinking of looking into pet insurance, especially b/c gracie loves to put anything and everything in her mouth. at least your fur baby is ok, though. yes, that truly is priceless.

  3. Laurie June 9, 2008 at 9:06 AM #

    This heat is really wearing on me! Walking to work this morning sucked and I know it’s only going to be 10 times worse on the way home.

    Oh and the lovely cost of pet care. We took Betty to the vet on Saturday for her last puppy booster and walked out $193 poorer. She had some bumps on her back so they took a skin culture to check for mites – which she did not have – and then they took some hairs to test for ringworm (i’m doubtful but they charged me anyway).

  4. nicoleantoinette June 9, 2008 at 3:45 PM #

    Have you gotten any weird people coming to your site after searching “fecal exam”? haha

Leave a Reply

