Insanity or the makings of some sort of plan?

13 Jun

On Wednesday it’s possible that I did the most insane thing ever. Likewise, it’s also possible that I made an excellent decision and created for myself the tiny beginnings of a future. Who knows. What’s important to know is the thing I did. For the second time in my life, I promised the Army six years of my life.

Signing the papers this time was so much different than the first time. First of all, I was 19, had no idea which way was up, was in a constant state of being either pissed off or depressed, and had absolutely no idea what the military would be like. Now, five years and some change later, I’m 24, have at least some idea as which way is the right way, am a little less pissy, and a lot less depressed, and, most important of all, I know what the military is like. And yet still, I signed the papers again, knowing full and well what I’m getting myself into.

I’ve tried, over the past few days, to determine the right words to describe what this feels like. But I can’t. It’s too much to write down, too many thoughts and emotions to try and capture in words. The best part is, I’m excited. Thrilled even.

The Army has, over these five years, given me so much more than I ever expected to get. And I love it. I wouldn’t change anything.

And now, I’ve got two weeks of Army fun ahead of me.  It’s time for my two week Army summer and with that, as with all Army activities comes all sorts of emotions.  I’m excited, because I love the people I worked with in Kosovo, but, at the same time, I can’t help shaking my head at the thought of spending two weeks away from my job, my apartment, and my dog.

So anyway, don’t be surprised if I’m even more absent from the blog land than I have been this week.  I’m hoping for internet, but I’m not going to count on it.

3 Responses to “Insanity or the makings of some sort of plan?”

  1. Michelle June 13, 2008 at 7:11 PM #

    Congratulations! Definitely the right choice. 🙂 You’re not insane! Have fun on your two weeks! I know how you feel about leaving your dog. I get separation anxiety as well. 😉

  2. instatick June 13, 2008 at 7:33 PM #

    Thanks Michelle! It’s nice to know that at least one person doesn’t think I’m insane 🙂

  3. nicoleantoinette June 17, 2008 at 12:57 AM #

    I can’t wait to hear about all of your new adventures.

Leave a Reply

