Oh-so-exciting things…

8 Jul

Things I should do:

  • Get on the treadmill.  Much to my dismay, just thinking about getting on the treadmill is not helping me get into any sort of desirable shape.  Surprise, surprise. 
  • Do laundry. 
  • Clean the refrigerator out like I said I would do on Friday…and Saturday…and Sunday.
  • Unload the dresser I bought on Saturday from the back of my car, haul it up to my apartment and put it together in the second bedroom to aid in creating some illusion of organization in that disaster of a room. 
  • Shave my legs. 

Things I will do instead:

  • Write this blog post.
  • Read the blogs of others. 
  • Play with dog. 
  • Complain about what a stressful day I had at work. 
  • Eat Ben & Jerry’s for dinner just because I can.

Things I  am thinking about that are keeping me from accomplishing any of the things I should be accomplishing:

  • Summer break.  I want one.  Working in the summer must be some sort of cruel joke.  Who makes these rules about needing to work to get money?  Why can’t someone just pay me to lay by a pool somewhere and sip margaritas? 
  • Maybe, now that I am a whooping 24 years of age, I should get a new driver’s license that isn’t the same one I’ve had since I was 19 and thus still has all the angry red writing on it that says  “NOT 18 UNTIL MARCH 12, 2002” and “NOT 21 UNTIL MARCH 12, 2005.” Also, it is vertical whereas grown-up driver’s licenses in this state are horizontal. 
  • OR, maybe instead I should just sing the toys ‘r’ us theme song. 
  • Why must this weekend be my one weekend a month Army weekend?  I understand that they get two weeks in the summer and one weekend a month, but when that one weekend comes just two weeks after my two weeks in the summer, I get a little grumpy. 

Things I have recently wanted very badly:

  • New shoes. 
  • A house.
  • A month off of work. 
  • A haircut. 
  • A weekend to spend with my husband without plans getting in the way of laying-on-the-couch-and-doing-nothing time.  

Things I learned today:

  • Peppermint patties are too strong for me, despite my long time love affair with them in my youth.  Apparently, my teeth are big weenies and cannot handle the minty goodness without feeling strange and tingly – in a bad way.  This will not make my stomach stop craving them though.  
  • You cannot cancel incoming faxes, even when they are 30 pages long and you have already received them once.  Telling the fax machine over and over that you hate it in a whispher seems only to encourage it to print more pages.  
  • The fax machine will always wait until I am about to walk out of the office at the end of day to start beeping like a maniac, blinking red lights, and flashing the words “TONER LIFE END.” 
3 Responses to “Oh-so-exciting things…”

  1. Michelle July 9, 2008 at 2:12 AM #

    Ha ha, sounds like you need to Office Space that fax machine. 🙂

  2. turnonthestars July 9, 2008 at 2:22 AM #

    mmm ben and jerrys… *dribbles*

  3. Andrew July 10, 2008 at 12:57 PM #

    In the state I live in the grown ups licenses are horizontal and the babies get vertical ones.

Leave a Reply

