Mass Amounts of General Updatedness

16 Jul

I keep thinking I have absolutely nothing to blog about, but that’s crap.  A whole kit and caboodle of adventures have taken place and life has taken quite a few interesting and super fabulous twists in the last week or so. I’ve just been too busy to write about them.  Or, maybe just too lazy.  I mean, do you really expect me to have super amounts of fun and then sit down and write on the computer when I could be playing with the dog, or cleaning the house, or putting together a dresser, or spending time with my husband, or hanging out with my porch friends?  Seriously?

Okay fine.  I do owe the internets at least some sort of an update thing so here’s a list, because lists are fun!  

          After the joys of my two week Army summer, Andrew and I hightailed it to Michigan for his brother’s wedding.  In six bullet points, this is how it went:

o        We flew Northwest and I’m almost positive our pilot was either drunk or not licensed.  It was a short, but horrible flight.  We hit turbulence before we even left the runway and I didn’t even know when we landed because the whole downward descent was shaky and generally wretched.

o        When we pulled into the car rental place in Detroit, Andrew spotted a red VW Beetle and knew that’s what he wanted to drive.  Surprisingly, it was comfortable and fun to drive.  Andrew and I spent much of the time in the Beetle punching each other despite Andrew’s decision that you can’t punch each other for the Beetle you’re actually in.  I overruled that decision. 

o        There was much drinking, laughing and fun. 

o        The wedding was wonderful and I didn’t even cry, although I did get all reminiscent of my wedding and spent most of the time during the ceremony making goo-goo eyes at Andrew. 

o        The reception was great and included lots of drinking, good food, enormous amounts of laughter and an all around good time. 

o        Again, as we left Michigan, I had to tell Andrew over and over how much I love his friends.  They’re all really great people and every time we go up there and spend time with them I end up making some of the greatest memories. 

          Coming back to work after two weeks of Army fun, and a weekend is Michigan was a little bit more than wretched, but luckily it was a short week because of the 4th of July and all the wonderfulness of that. 

          The 4th of July involved debauchery, but that story has already been told. 

          Then, the very best thing happened – Andrew found out he got the job he interviewed for last week.  When he called to tell me, I’m not going to lie, I got a little misty eyed.  The amount of pride I have for my husband is beyond explanation. 

          Last weekend was yet another Army weekend.  It wasn’t all that bad and on Sunday we actually escaped and went to Arlington National Cemetery and watched the changing of the guard and took pictures because that’s what we do.  Andrew and the other two Soldiers were given the privilege to go super close to the tomb to take photographs and I was astonished that I wasn’t jealous.  I was instead proud and took pictures of them taking pictures of the Tomb Guards.  Arlington was, as always, beautiful and watching the Tomb Guards is always a treat because their dedication, discipline, and commitment is amazing to watch. 

          I think, now that Andrew got the new job that he really, really wanted, it might be time to think about purchasing a house for real.  I know the economy sucks and whatnot, but isn’t it a buyer’s market? 

          I learned yesterday that getting gas makes me grumpy and reminiscent for the good ole days when gas was $0.97 a gallon. 

          It’s already Wednesday!  Dah-Dee!

Maybe, if you behave yourself, I’ll post some pictures. 

4 Responses to “Mass Amounts of General Updatedness”

  1. nicoleantoinette July 16, 2008 at 10:38 AM #

    I’m paying almost $5 a gallon for gas and it KILLS me.

  2. Alverna July 16, 2008 at 6:56 PM #

    Obviously your weekend was dedicated to wedding fun, but–just for future reference–Detroit is only a *few* miles up 75 from us! 🙂

    Buy a house, it’ll be the best and worst thing you ever do, all in one! But, be prepared not to have a social life for at least 6 months (maybe more, depending on how much you want to do to it). Oh and the looking part is so much fun! Wait until you’ve found one that feels right…it’s like choosing a dog or a car.

  3. turnonthestars July 17, 2008 at 10:02 AM #

    oh man.. petrol. or gas as you US folk call it. I put my regular dollar amount in my car yesterday and it only took the needle up to 3/4 full.

    I almost cried.

  4. titus2woman July 18, 2008 at 9:57 AM #

    I LOVE the term “porch friends”! FUN! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

